Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 14, 2014 | 9:21 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place March 15, 2014
  • Weekly 5th Place March 19, 2014

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Enter the new chapter in the Submachine saga. Explore the temple and the secrets hidden within it's ancient walls.

Reviews


whovianwhoserwhovianwhoser

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 14, 2014

saw this while waiting for a video to load, so almost missed it...but the video will now have to wait, I can't just not play this, and I'm, as usual, loving it so far


People find this review helpful!

VorpikeVorpike

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 11, 2014

Great everything as a puzzle/point n' click (great art, suitable music, nice animations and sound effects). What I find annoying is that it lets you continue without finding all key items, so eventually I get stuck, don't feel like going back and searching for something I'm not even sure exists, or just forget where I am. What I mean it that you should close off parts that aren't needed anymore for simplicity/less repetition.



QuartinoQuartino

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 28, 2014

do you know the point of this hammer??



GretgorGretgor

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 19, 2014

One of the most interestig cerebral point n' click adventures I've played. Like the rest of the series, the difficulty in this game is fair and legitimate, it comes from the intellectual complexity of the maps itself rather than from endless sessions of trial and error or pixel hunts like in many other games in the genre. The game sure is a lot easier than the rest of the series from my experience, given I hardly had to consult walkthroughs at all.

The graphics are nice to look at, composed of very well made sceneries and objects, and I love the ambient music and sound effects that go with each action. The graphics, sound and music in this game combine effectively to create a cerebral, mysterious and magical atmosphere.

The gameplay consists of a challenging point n' click adventure with complex puzzles, mostly revolving around making contraptions work to operate a certain function (such as opening a door or a container), and some nice secrets to unveil, just like in other games of the series, which makes for an excellent combination of features for a fulfilling adventure experience. I do feel like this game was a lot easier than the rest of the series, but it was still quite a challenge, and I enjoyed it while getting my intellect tested at the same time. I particularly love how the Karmic Water item is used through out the game, sometimes generating cogwheels to be taken, sometimes generating a machine to make function and sometimes opening gates to different places.

Also, the controller that teleports you to a different dimension with the same map structure, present in other Submachine games, is also used extensively in this one, adding an extra layer of challenge (some special items and puzzles will only appear on the right dimension) and surprise (it's fantastic how everything becomes clear once you finally reach the eight dimension). The changes caused by each dimensional warp are this time around a lot more subtle (the maps remain basically the same, except with slightly different features), requiring more attentiveness to detail for the most part.

There's also the introspective theme, the ominous, deep messages of the second-to-last chapter in the Submachine series, the story about Mortaugh and its seven dimensional arms, that is all pretty kickass. I can't quite make out what it all means, but that's probably because I haven't followed the series from the start, and apparently I'm missing out on a lot.

The only problem I see with this game is that unless a person knows what that remote controller thing is for (which would require said person to already have played previous games in the series), they'll be a little bit lost, since the button presses will apparently have no effect whatsoever except in very specific panels, so they will take a while to figure out they can change things by pressing the buttons. Also, the eight dimension (the missing button) only comes up when it's already too late, and it can only be used to unveil a couple of secrets and walk to the end of the game.



UncleNastyUncleNasty

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 14, 2014

Great fun as per usual. Fantastic series of games :-)