Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 4, 2014 | 2:20 PM EST
  • Daily Feature February 5, 2014
  • Weekly 3rd Place February 5, 2014

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Chapter I 5 Points Completed Chapter I
Cursed Dagger 5 Points Used Lina's Cursed Dagger
Dragon's Roar 5 Points Used D's Dragon's Roar
First! 5 Points Win your first battle!
Guardian Crystal 5 Points Completed Guardian tree
Healer Crystal 5 Points Completed Healer tree
Mage Crystal 5 Points Completed Mage tree
Rend 5 Points Used Kaz's Rend
Slayers Crystal 5 Points Completed Slayer tree
Snipe 5 Points Used Mari's Snipe
Thief Crystal 5 Points Completed Thief tree
Trickster Crystal 5 Points Completed Trickster tree
Chapter II 10 Points Completed Chapter II
Chapter III 10 Points Completed Chapter III
Chapter IV 10 Points Completed Chapter IV
Defense 10 Points Complete all Defense quests
Dragon's Breath 10 Points Used D's Dragon's Breath
Fishing 10 Points Fished all Rares
Hackpicker 10 Points Hackpicked all locked chests
Hurricane 10 Points Used Kaz's Hurricane
Lucky Strike 10 Points Used Lina's Lucky Strike
Magic Bullet 10 Points Used Mari's Magic Bullet
Mercenary Defense 10 Points Completed Mercenary Defense
Slime Tamer 10 Points Achieved Pet level 10
Snowboard Extreme! 10 Points Get gold on track 3 of Snowboard Extreme
Wanted 10 Points Completed all Wanted quests
Bestiary 25 Points Completed the Bestiary
Chapter V 25 Points Completed Chapter V
Cyclone Dance 25 Points Used Lina's Cyclone Dance
Death's Gate 25 Points Used Kaz's Death's Gate
Doom Bringer 25 Points Clear out Doom Lair
Dragon's Rage 25 Points Used D's Dragon's Rage
Giant Killer 25 Points Clear out Giant Land
Scavenger 25 Points Clear out the Sunken Ruins
Trigger Happy 25 Points Used Mari's Trigger Happy
Wanted X 25 Points Completed all Wanted X quests
Warden 25 Points Clear out Lao Prison
Generic Quest Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Crystal Story II is a turn-based RPG that follows the story of a young Dragon on his quest to defeat an evil witch. He must seek allies to aid him on his journey and save the world from the oncoming invasion.

Reviews


A-starBoy97A-starBoy97

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 25, 2014

This is by far the best RPG I've played on Newgrounds yet! I only hope my save tomorrow will be kept, since I hear a lot of people complaining about it :s



Mister-LibertyMister-Liberty

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 25, 2014

Great game, only problem is that regardless if you do not clear your game cache, the save doesn't work, it is possibly a browser issue with Chrome.



4DaNguyen4DaNguyen

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 25, 2014

great game, luv the advancement options. only problem i had with it is that i spent 6 hours on it only for it to not save at all. so you can imagine the frustration. i didnt clear the cache or anything it just didnt save.



CaptainSmugCaptainSmug

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 24, 2014

Brilliant game all round, the main quest is engaging, plenty of varied side games, challenge ramped up significantly following the Dargon King so I'll probably come back from time to time and have a go at those missions. Any negatives are minor (e.g. arranging skills across 4 pages is tiresome, I'd prefer a custom skill list that I can add to/remove skills from when they're superceded - a side effect of having so much choice!) this is one of the best-designed and best-executed games I've ever played and the scale of it is incredible. Big congratulations!



EDB2EDB2

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 19, 2014

Fantastic and well made RPG. I enjoyed that there were multiple ways I could control the game, via mouse or keyboard hot keys. This would be great to play as a mobile game with touch screen features. I didn't play too far into it but from what I did play, I enjoyed the art and the bestiary had great early game variety. The music was good and reminiscent of traditional RPG games.

I would like to see more attention placed on the level design for future games of Crystal Story. The forest, for example, just seemed to be a connected series of squares with tree sprites thrown about. Given your attention to art assets with the characters and inventory, I know you can do a lot better with the level design and layout.

For example, I would love to see a upper and lower level for an area so that characters can go under bridges or over rivers, for example. This would also allow you to have tree tops obscure parts of the stage which characters can walk under. These minor things will provide a lot to your game.

I liked the battle system, it was very smooth. The characters were distinct and entertaining. The treasure chest minigame was a little awkward for me. I got the concept but it seemed up to chance whether or not I had the correct arrow at the proper moment.