Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 4, 2014 | 2:20 PM EST
  • Daily Feature February 5, 2014
  • Weekly 3rd Place February 5, 2014

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Chapter I 5 Points Completed Chapter I
Cursed Dagger 5 Points Used Lina's Cursed Dagger
Dragon's Roar 5 Points Used D's Dragon's Roar
First! 5 Points Win your first battle!
Guardian Crystal 5 Points Completed Guardian tree
Healer Crystal 5 Points Completed Healer tree
Mage Crystal 5 Points Completed Mage tree
Rend 5 Points Used Kaz's Rend
Slayers Crystal 5 Points Completed Slayer tree
Snipe 5 Points Used Mari's Snipe
Thief Crystal 5 Points Completed Thief tree
Trickster Crystal 5 Points Completed Trickster tree
Chapter II 10 Points Completed Chapter II
Chapter III 10 Points Completed Chapter III
Chapter IV 10 Points Completed Chapter IV
Defense 10 Points Complete all Defense quests
Dragon's Breath 10 Points Used D's Dragon's Breath
Fishing 10 Points Fished all Rares
Hackpicker 10 Points Hackpicked all locked chests
Hurricane 10 Points Used Kaz's Hurricane
Lucky Strike 10 Points Used Lina's Lucky Strike
Magic Bullet 10 Points Used Mari's Magic Bullet
Mercenary Defense 10 Points Completed Mercenary Defense
Slime Tamer 10 Points Achieved Pet level 10
Snowboard Extreme! 10 Points Get gold on track 3 of Snowboard Extreme
Wanted 10 Points Completed all Wanted quests
Bestiary 25 Points Completed the Bestiary
Chapter V 25 Points Completed Chapter V
Cyclone Dance 25 Points Used Lina's Cyclone Dance
Death's Gate 25 Points Used Kaz's Death's Gate
Doom Bringer 25 Points Clear out Doom Lair
Dragon's Rage 25 Points Used D's Dragon's Rage
Giant Killer 25 Points Clear out Giant Land
Scavenger 25 Points Clear out the Sunken Ruins
Trigger Happy 25 Points Used Mari's Trigger Happy
Wanted X 25 Points Completed all Wanted X quests
Warden 25 Points Clear out Lao Prison
Generic Quest Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Crystal Story II is a turn-based RPG that follows the story of a young Dragon on his quest to defeat an evil witch. He must seek allies to aid him on his journey and save the world from the oncoming invasion.

Reviews


SkullSlicerZSkullSlicerZ

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 19, 2014

it's alright


People find this review helpful!

LodzLodz

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 19, 2014

A great game with some short comings.
Note: I beat this game awhile ago on Kongregate, so some stuff may be dated.
I could never beat the original, I got far in it but got bored of fighting enemy recolors and the same bosses over and over, I believe I was somewhere near the end of the game when I just upped and gave up. So when I started playing this, I wasn't expecting to like it as much as I did.
Mainly cause I suck at writing reviews, I'm just gonna make a list of Pro's/Con's.
---
+I liked the artwork, but I know not everyone did.
+I was engaged by the story.
+I really liked the characters.
+The characters from the first Crystal Story appear in the plot and don't filled shoe-horned.
+I liked the battle system.
+Power Rangers reference :D.
--
-Battle system is pretty easy when you put a lot of points in Speed.
-Plot felt rushed at times.
-(SPOILER) The scene where the water spirit (forgot her name dammit) saves you on her boat feels to convenient.
-Would have liked a bit more character customization, the set classes feel arbitrary.
-The sprites on the original Crystal Story characters didn't change.
-Some of the artwork is just..weird (The fire on the final bosses attacks made the battle feel more anti-climatic then it was).
--
All in all I really did enjoy the game despite it's flaws and I hope it reaches its Steam Greenlight campaign.


People find this review helpful!

supercroc77supercroc77

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 18, 2014

THIS GAME IS SO COOL!
Amazing job, Lan. This game is a major step up from the original.


People find this review helpful!

slyster7slyster7

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 18, 2014

this game is fun to play and a great way to kill time you can get quickly addicted to it and play it for quite a while although you can also get quickly bored of it since it is tedious for one thing the normal monster battles are way too easy if you know what your doing you will never get hit hit in a normal fight thus making potions redundant on the other hand was a nice idea to take out leveling you can't completely overpower your character however it makes the enemies not strong enough but all things considered it is a fantastic game with a long story that once you start you should want to finish.


People find this review helpful!

Determinator44Determinator44

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 16, 2014

As soon as I saw the Djinn, this is the sort of attitude I pictured him having: "Gawd...I don't even wanna BE here. I HATE. This. Dungeon. Fine, I GUESS I'll fight you. What. Ever."

Readers be warned, I'm going to run my mouth for a few long paragraphs. Also mild spoilers.

This sequel carries over the addictive formula of its predecessor in the tried-and-true turn-based health&magic&stats formula, but it goes further and adds a story. It adds a bunch of new tracks while recycling older ones. First off, if you're going to use old melodies, at least remix them for the sake of the sequel.

It improves presentation of said story with more work on hand-drawn representations of characters and more interaction between those characters during the journey to the end. The story isn't great, it isn't very good, but for the sake of the game, it's passable, and is definitely a step up from throwing the player into a town with shops, pointing at a cave and shouting, "GO!" However, amid the cliches played for tongue-in-cheek, it was difficult to understand certain characters' motivations for traveling with the Dragon. Lina wants to be the best thief in the world, but she works for hard-earned money in a mercenary guild? Why doesn't she take jobs requiring aptitude in the profession she professes to practice and aspire to? Then, along comes a Dragon, and following him into the cave out of the goodness in her heart sounds believable, but then deciding to tag along even though Phoebe--a known hero and former companion to Hiro himself--decides to guide him to the Oracle, and Lina, when prompted by no motivation of kindness or practice(of her professed profession), decides to go because it'll be fun?? This gap between helping in the cave and later joining when the prophet says doom things(both because she's a thief with a heart of gold) is a stretch too wide.

There's more. Phoebe, after hearing troubling news from the Oracle, inexplicably leaves the party. I thought that, by the player's inability to customize her equipment or progress her class, that she may or may not die or have some some event specific to her happen, preventing her from continuing with the Dragon. When she simply says, "I'm gonna go, bye", I can only fathom that she's 4th-wall conscious and knows she was in the first game. Even though she and the other heroes stopped Rita and the Dargon, she's not at all disturbed or shocked and just decides the Dragon doesn't need her help and doesn't bother offering it, Because this is Crystal Story II, and we need new heroes, not former heroes like herself.

Later down the road, we meet Kaz, who reasonably decides that there's strength in numbers and says he's going to join forces with the Dragon, but won't tell him about his connection to the terrible omen, even though it's obvious he is, appearing out of nowhere and being, well, a demon with blue skin. Which is fine, except he and his people are connected to the mcguffins, and that the Dragon is going to come into contact with people who will inevitably reveal said connection. Regardless, the Dragon decides to allow his company while remaining suspicious, and Lina--out of the kindness of her heart again, I can only speculate--decides to take an active role in watching Kaz' every move. Kindness of the heart is great and all, but throwing it in as her motivation for everything is becoming staple by this point and predictable, and noticeably cliche. Now we get to see/hear the antics of Kaz interactions with the party((or himself)) every time they act in a way he disapproves of. "This Kaz guy, he's so serious and ornery!" Side question, does he sound so gruff because that's just part of the sexual dimorphism in demon vocal cords? Or are demons asexual and that's just how their voices sound? Mari, on the other hand, is the "sheriff" of a town--more on her in a bit--who has a town to take care of, decides to abandon said town to keep an eye on Kaz as well, even though there's already going to be two people on that task(the Dragon ISN'T automatically excluded from the assumption that he's also doing it by NOT saying he WON'T be doing it). She has no personal motivation for traveling with them.

Let's talk about Mari for a moment. She's a sheriff who leaves her jurisdiction to go to the mercenary guild to track down thieves who stole gold, and ends up in another town crying her grown-up sheriff eyes out and asking the mercenary Lina and the Dragon for help. So long story short, they have to go back to Mari's jurisdiction and then head into the desert to track down the thieves, and after they find and beat the crap out of their leader, said leader learns that there is no gold in the town to be stolen in the first place. And this is where the player gets confused. First she was tracking them down to reclaim gold that was stolen from the town, and then we learn that there was no gold to be stolen from said town to begin with. And so Mari, sheriff #2 of No-Gold Town, decides to follow the player, leaving her jurisdiction again. Don't even get me started on her father, he must have been the one who made her sheriff #2, because "she's my daughter". First, there's no such thing as a sheriff #2, just one sheriff and the rest are deputies. Second, why is a girl like her a sheriff in the first place? She has noticeably low confidence until it's conveniently high for the sake of joining the group, and she clearly lacks the level of emotional stability required for the awful day-to-day messes she would inevitably encounter and/or solve on a daily basis. She can't even pronounce a five-syllable word, how old is she!? They say she's the best gunslinger in the town(for all that's worth), but they don't even address the fact that she can use magic when what she has to offer the group comes into question. It's glaringly obvious that Mari herself is just a plot item(or could be easily switched with something else, if you wanna be literal) contrived to get the characters across a bridge, into a desert to encounter Kaz, and later have Kaz join them, and by extension, so is her father, and the entire town.

I've got a lot of questions about the Dargons. What exactly is a Dargon? Are they all skeletal beings from another world? Do they all look like giant dragon skeletons? If so, why dragon skeletons? Why did Rita want to summon this particular Dargon, the one we fight early on? Why don't all Dargons pose the same threat in unison that their King does? Wouldn't the way to close the rift have something to do with how Rita opened it? Their name sounds like a cross between Dragons and the erhmagerd meme.

Separating the thousand-floor dungeon into multiple dungeons with few floors was a significant improvement. After a while, it just got tedious in the first game. My addiction wore off because I couldn't care enough to continue floor after floor after floor. I thought I was going to have to bring someone talented as a lockpicker when I saw the inclusion of locked chests, but it got worse. What made you throw together this minigame and think to yourself, "this ought to be fun"? Firstly, you're able to pick any tile you want to add to the path regardless of whether it's adjacent, so it's already broken. Second, why would you force the player back to the start just because he got stuck on a loop? Maybe he'd want to stay in that spot and think first, form a path from the exit to the character model's current position. If you got rid of those problems and just put a timer in, it'd be fine. And speaking of models, why are there enemies inside this thing? Why do they look like slimes instead of, idunno, makeshift representations of antivirus patrols/programs? I get the joke, really, but it's just broken and poorly presented. Fortunately it's not too glaring of a problem, and I didn't have to waste more than five minutes on any given puzzle, thankfully less during most instances.

The hit boxes of the party and the enemies don't allow the character model to overlap, if one would normally be covering the other because it was approaching/fleeing to the south. When avoiding enemies, I really hated the bats. The moment you get too far into the puzzle to outrun them(further than 6 paces, let's say), you're screwed, and all enemies have a sight radius of infinity in whatever direction they happen to be facing. Introducing Sprint! Casting it gives you an edge outside of combat in running away, but if you happen to initiate combat while it's active anyway, the effect is gone at the end of the fight. Why? What is so game breaking about the opposite? I did like the inclusion of the bestiary in battles, it saved my party from having trouble remembering what enemies' weaknesses and strengths are due to my brain farts. Unfortunately, most battle strategies consist of remembering what an enemy's elemental weakness is as exploiting it, while defending from its strengths. The skill progression seems faintly reminiscent of the Sphere Grid from Final Fantasy 10, dumping the "tree" style for something more simple. I enjoyed the customization offered by combining classes chosen as characters progressed to have each fulfill one or more niches, creating a variety of party combinations from multiple class combinations of characters in that party, although the strategies don't number even greater due to the systems liberal approach to magic. I also noticed an oversight, I used a Cure Potion on a character I had trained as a Guardian who was Guarding, and the item removed the Guard status as well as the negative status. That definitely needs to be fixed.

Suggestions: assigning the mouse scroll or the arrow keys to the page up/down buttons in the spell/skill menus.

Normally all that story stuff would really hurt a serious game, but since this is was made for a way more lighthearted game, it doesn't hurt it all that much, although it's still hard to ignore. That said, I am enjoying myself, and I do plan to finish a playthrough of this game.


People find this review helpful!