Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 11, 2013 | 3:48 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 18, 2013
  • Review Crew Pick December 18, 2013
  • Daily Feature December 12, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

My Senior Film at Pratt.

Each frame, background, and effect were carefully hand drawn to bring the world of Breadheads to life for your viewing pleasure.

Starving soldiers divide a measly last meal when sick allies arrive at their base. When the allies' heads turn to bread, things get tense.

Reviews


CARTOONSORGCARTOONSORG

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 12, 2013

Excellent style!



jeand207jeand207

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 12, 2013

I think my lack of analytical skills shine through here, but i wonder what the moral of this story was...


People find this review helpful!
codywalzel responds:

Oh man, I will copy and paste my extraordinarily long artist's statement on what this thing is about if you care for a somewhat tedious and wordy explanation. But the condensed version is, it'sh an exploration of human action in desperation. Enjoy:

"Starving soldiers divide a measly last meal when sick allies arrive at their base. Their affliction takes a turn for the worse and one of the Allie's head turns to bread. For the moment, ravenous eyes and murderous teeth are kept at bay by the command of the Sergeant. The breadhead soon dies, his head immediately rotting beyond edible. When the other ally transforms into food, the starving soldier's desperation forces the battle between hunger and humanity.

Borrowing directorial cues from German expressionism, harsh angles and stark shadows aim to deliver an ever-present sense of danger and tension. Bolshevik Revolution posters were the starting point for the environment and art direction of the film. As the palette developed, the blacks and neutrals were replaced by monochrome shades of reds and pinks. Flat, sharp design gave way to the many values of this monochrome scheme, which allowed more depth to the cluttered, industrial space. Fluid and overstated animation not only references the silent acting of the time period portrayed, but also attempts to deliver content to a low dialogue story.

Hunger, transformation, and cannibalism themes state the malleable perception of "human." While the allied refugees remain in their original form, the bunker soldiers are accommodating, concerned; humane. Seconds after the transformation, the former allies in need become a welcome meal. Less glamorous faces of desperation are at first kept checked by the scorn of fellow man. Once the dead meal rots, only one morsel remains to curtail the agony of hunger. Breadheads closes upon a scene suggesting no authority short of force can stay the hand of true desperation."


SirMaxwellingtonSirMaxwellington

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 14, 2013

That was incredible! I'm curious,
how long did it take you??


People find this review helpful!

GladimnotinrussiaGladimnotinrussia

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 11, 2013

This is great in all regards



OrmondJoyOrmondJoy

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 11, 2013

i think i may have found a new favorite on newgrounds, i love you style. Looking forward to your next video.