Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 11, 2013 | 3:48 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 18, 2013
  • Review Crew Pick December 18, 2013
  • Daily Feature December 12, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

My Senior Film at Pratt.

Each frame, background, and effect were carefully hand drawn to bring the world of Breadheads to life for your viewing pleasure.

Starving soldiers divide a measly last meal when sick allies arrive at their base. When the allies' heads turn to bread, things get tense.

Reviews


KrutchesKrutches

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 12, 2013

Pretty good, I liked the story though I felt the ending was lacking. There was no resolution. Perhaps if those who ate the bread heads became bread heads and the captain ate his subordinate soldiers in retaliation for what they had done, it would have had better closure. Though that's just how I thought it would logically end. The art work and audio is superb! 4.5/5


codywalzel responds:

I appreciate your take on it. I had considered a very similair ending, and actually have animated and completed an alternative ending separate from the suggested ending or the one in the film now. As I screened the animatic at various stages, other endings seemed to lend too much levity to what I wanted to be a dark story. The first time I ended the film on the screaming death of an innocent character, a chill ran through the audience. I knew then that I had arrived at the tone I wanted. Unfortunately, there is no clean resolution for the breadheads, and there may not necessarily be justice. This ending just felt the most honest to me at the time.


batucancloudenbatucanclouden

Rated 3 / 5 stars March 20, 2014

Which time is the video part of the thumbnail?


codywalzel responds:

3:38


ZanfibBlackZanfibBlack

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 12, 2013

Whoa whoa whoa, you get to telling this chilling story and then you don't finish it? That's a 5-star miss!


codywalzel responds:

I guess I'm not sure what you mean. Structurally, the story progressed to a point in which the sources of tension (starvation and the bread's safety) are decided upon. The breadheads are dead, and the soldiers fed. To me, there is not necessarily justice, and the following events of falling action are just filler.


HaradaHarada

Rated 3 / 5 stars April 18, 2014

No, UsiDsi. The moral is.... umm.... if your head turns into a loaf of bread.... that's bad. Don't let your head turn into bread. I think.

The animation was good quality, but.... what the hell!? Seriously, I need to get out of the weird part of Newgrounds before MY head turns into bread.



Jade-the-batJade-the-bat

Rated 1 / 5 stars January 5, 2014

I'm on that weird part of Newgrounds again.