Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 13, 2013 | 7:11 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 16, 2013
  • Review Crew Pick October 16, 2013
  • Daily Feature October 14, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

EDIT: thanks for the daily 1st folks. I had to change the song in the ending credits as it turns out it was plagiarized(never a cool discovery).

Duration: 3 minute episode, 1 minute 23 second credit sequence.

Watch in pop up mode.

Dea is still hanging around Keiichi, neither really have any clue about the other and find out bits and peices on the way.

Wont have another episode up until Next year, probably will have a little supplemental episode around December using the chibi style seen in the credits.

Reviews


Dast0soDast0so

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars January 31, 2014

mmm what an affable little story

i feel compelled to laud your immaculate artwork

however ill be more scathing as regards the plot. i do like it, i found it very likeable but i fear it is, to a certain degree derivative. theres a terrible anime called chobits which also tells the sordid story of a guy who found a completely oblivious girl with limited cognitive abilities.

lets not forget haruhi suzumiya, dea bears strong resemblance to nagato when it comes to her mechanical and staid demeanor and speech

i do not mean to belittle your efforts nor am i disparaging your work, im metely pinpoiting obvious similarities.

nevertheless, go ahead with your project

ill be looking forward to the next part



dailypastadailypasta

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars January 12, 2014

Okay so this is an okay series. I like it and it's watchable but there are things that could be done to improve it.
The voice acting could use a bit of work. Keiichi's delivery and timing on some lines need work. For example, "You don't know what a dvd or a dvd player are...". The way the actor said it, sounds like he's asking a question but it's meant to be a statement. Also Dea is supposed to be the stiff one but the voice acting doesn't differ from either character. It's stuck in that tone of nonchalant when Keiichi (though from what I've seen of this series is nonchalant, accepting everything that Dea with no real range of emotion) could have a bit more potential. If there's more of a contrast between Dea and Keiichi in manner and in actions, the audience can then be able to relate to Keiichi more and make your story interesting instead of following this two dimensional character and his sidekick deathgirl.

The writing needs work. Conversation feels staged. When Dea asks why humans act the same to avoid persecution, Keiichi replies with a though out answer. If he stumbled on his words or thought about it or didn't answer at all, that would give him a bit of humanity. Something to get him off of that stoic nature.

THINGS THAT ARE WORKING

Dea's character is great. She has subtle hints of curiosity, the fact she pokes everything she sees at least gives her some form of interest. She's seeing the world for the first time so of course she's curious.

The animation is limited but it works for this series. The characters are pretty well drawn and I can definitely see the appeal of this concept. I look forward to seeing more.



jeffkillerjeffkiller

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars April 3, 2014

no death's not my sister we are brothers



KikoshouKikoshou

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars October 17, 2013

After the prologue and this, I honestly can't possibly see this going anywhere remotely interesting. It's as tired a cliche as it can get with a normal guy being the only one who somehow connects to a stoic girl that doesn't "understand" humans, and while I'm sure you plan on the empty conversations actually going somewhere resembling a plot, there's no way you're getting there doing 3 minute videos every few months.

Besides the dull plot, motion is almost non-existant making for a really dull watch, and the dialogue has absolutely zero charm as it's all just standard, "I do not understand humans. What is emotion? It seems unnecessary." One could pick apart the details, like how an omnipresent being that knows all languages ever spoken would completely fail to understand what "watch the DVD" means, but that's all on the assumption that I care enough to actually nitpick.

You've got one more episode to prove that this is actually going somewhere besides being benign and cute.


johnathan-wrathborne responds:

I politley decline your ultimatum and choose to continue telling this story the way I want too and not be rushed. Please don't ask me to change my own stories and art style just for you.