Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 13, 2013 | 7:11 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 16, 2013
  • Review Crew Pick October 16, 2013
  • Daily Feature October 14, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

EDIT: thanks for the daily 1st folks. I had to change the song in the ending credits as it turns out it was plagiarized(never a cool discovery).

Duration: 3 minute episode, 1 minute 23 second credit sequence.

Watch in pop up mode.

Dea is still hanging around Keiichi, neither really have any clue about the other and find out bits and peices on the way.

Wont have another episode up until Next year, probably will have a little supplemental episode around December using the chibi style seen in the credits.

Reviews


MilenosMilenos

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 14, 2013

Can we see the next episode now? can't wait for it, its great, even its not that long, this is perfect, i already love the two charactere.



biowurmbiowurm

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 14, 2013

This looks like there's a lot of potential for a great series. Great so far, but it ended so soon :P Can't wait to see more in the future.


People find this review helpful!

arghjustkillmearghjustkillme

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars October 14, 2013

The animation overall is pretty good. You've had a few items that have bounced in and out of the top 50 on NG, so that's well established. It's good to see you keep pushing your abilities in this department with hair physics and perspective shifts. If you keep on your current curve, your skills will climb to lofty heights. I would suggest working with light sources, as the one streak of highlight in the character's hair is pretty amateur.

What I dislike is death as a magical girlfriend. It is boggling how Dea can be so old and pervasive, yet totally clueless. How can a creature that has not just implicitly witnessed DVDs functioning not know what Keiichi meant when he told her to 'watch' the disc? This is especially bothersome given her ability to play DDR and claim to speak all known languages. The DVD-shaped gap in her knowledge is arbitrary and poor payoff for a joke. Even more bothersome is that Dea can't understand anxiety and hate even though death goes everywhere with those ideas.

What does work is death being insistent. Death follows us everywhere, waiting to act, and can be a huge burden on some people. It's a little interesting now that Dea does not follow Keiichi to work where he has a distraction, and clings to him like a toddler while he's alone in the dark of his house. This explains why death listened to Keiichi's request, but doesn't follow his rules. It also justifies how the dialogue doesn't really go anywhere meaningful, as constantly pondering death doesn't really help people most of the time.

The way I'm seeing it from the little let on is Dea is a Hobbes character who only exists to Keiichi to help him rationalize his own problems with the deaths he's lived through. This can work out really well if we take more time to learn about Keiichi and his past so that we can find out why he wants to see death, talk to her, play DDR with her, and- if the title is any hint- romance her. Is he going to stop worrying about other's deaths or his own? Is he going to kill himself? These are more interesting than the clueless magical girl jib-jab that can be found in countless other sources. Explore this and you'll have an historic flash series. But if you stay in quirky little rom-com land, death is going to snatch this series well before its time.

Conclusion: It's fair, but I want it to be better.


johnathan-wrathborne responds:

"What I dislike is death as a magical girlfriend. It is boggling how Dea can be so old and pervasive, yet totally clueless."

You have to wait . Not being sarcastic, I have this stuff all planned out, but the answers to your questions lie in other episodes that havent been written or animated yet(but they are plot lined). I'm not intending to answer all the questions you may have, but I have plenty of them already figured out and am looking forward to sharing them.

Don't worry too much about the magical girl jib-jab. I'm not a fan of the magical girl genre. Besides the original idea being this is that its a bit more of a counter magical girlfriend series.

Shes not there to solve his problems or go on fantastic adventures with him, or stop an evil force from taking over the earth while falling in love with him at the same time.

Shes just death. Despite the nod to Ingmar Bergmans "7th seal" with Death playing games, this is a different interpretation of death as an entity.

But you have given me a bit more to think about in how to handle one or two bits of the story.

Thanks for the critique.


Scienceofdead2811Scienceofdead2811

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 14, 2013

Man.... Romanticide........ i loved the first one... AND NOW ITS A SERIES!!! WOOOHOO!!



ServiceGhostServiceGhost

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 14, 2013

This is AWESOME!! I love this, it takes me back to the Xin days on Newgrounds.