Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2013 | 10:46 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 9, 2013
  • Daily Feature October 7, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"The Social Media Generation"

This is an adaptation from the original comic "Marc Maron: The social media generation" by Zen Pencils.
http://zenpencils.com/comic/129-marc-maron-the-social-media-generation/

The script used in that comic is a quote from Marc Maron's book "Attempting Normal".

This animation is also available on youtube in HD.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGU8yjjJXD8

Enjoy! :)

Reviews


NeriyahuNeriyahu

Rated 5 / 5 stars 1 month ago

Well, if you watch the last scene closely, when Marc is sittin' like the addict in the next stall, you shall note that the narator is saying "Twitter and facebook are my techno-parents, sating the child of me. But they're not beyond abusing him" It truly is making a comparison between the drug adiction and social media's adiction. But are you guys sure that one isn't as bad as the other?

See, people commit suicide because of their status, harasment, cyber-bulling, and a whole of other motives. It might not be as visible and dangerous as most of drugs yet, but you're are underestimating the problem that it may become in the years to come.

However, it's also true that yearning to be acknowledge was put in a rater childish way, it's not like this. Most people need to be aware of this acknowledge, not only children. You may say that you don't, but try walk a very long road all alone. You shall start talking to yourself to prove that you are real and don't get insane. :P



yoyomanoyoyomano

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 11, 2014

Nice! I don't got fb or twita so yeeee :P



MonocromMonocrom

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 20, 2014

A great short that tells it exactly like it is.



mexipinogoremexipinogore

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 9, 2014

Going nobody really c:



ArticKillerArticKiller

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 14, 2013

I'm going to be brutally honest with you, this work is just saying "wake up sheeple" in a kind tone that sill retains just a hint of condescending attitude, just a hint though. While phone addiction is a problem, it's not an issue that everyone suffers from, and I do believe that comparison to the crack addict has something to do with the study that shows how a social media junkie's brain looks the same as a crack junkie's brain under an MRI, but then again, nobody really knows what that truly means. After all, social media addiction certainly doesn't have the same direct physiological effects of a cocaine addiction, and the average person who hears about that study probably has no idea as to what to do with an MRI scan. Your point isn't necessarily bad, you just take it too far and present it in a fasion that just says "wake up sheeple!"

Also, is this some kind of a joke, because at the end of the video, you give us a like on Facebook button, a follow on twitter button, and a plus one button for google plus [insert generic and badly thought out joke about google plus's complete lack of people who are on it here (what do you expect, I don't right my own comedy)]


People find this review helpful!