Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2013 | 10:46 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 9, 2013
  • Daily Feature October 7, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"The Social Media Generation"

This is an adaptation from the original comic "Marc Maron: The social media generation" by Zen Pencils.
http://zenpencils.com/comic/129-marc-maron-the-social-media-generation/

The script used in that comic is a quote from Marc Maron's book "Attempting Normal".

This animation is also available on youtube in HD.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGU8yjjJXD8

Enjoy! :)

Reviews


Ember77Ember77

Rated 3 / 5 stars October 9, 2013

Lacking deeper thought.

If you honestly think that this generation is the only generation which seeks acknowledgement then you have no real perception of the past.

This is how humans are. Facebook is just a tool for most people to acquire that attention.



nikkznikkz

Rated 3 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

Well I'm not going to further fan the fire of social networks being a nest of lies and insecurity, but simply say that how one uses them is a choice and not a general rule.
As for the animation itself, I generally like its style and messsage, but find some things unclear. For starters, the plot and majority of the images are borrowed from a comic you have cited, which makes it hard to give points for originality or artwork. The audio and adapted script have been done well, although there's two things I find a bit off. Firstly, I'm not sure if an infant would really use "acknowledge" for a lack of attention and secondly, I don't think the change in narrator's perspective from 1st to 3rd with the "but they are not beyond abusing him" comes across as well as it does in the comic.
In regard of the animated component, it seems a bit too minimalistic. Although there is some motion in the images, it does still resemble a comic with tweens more than an animation. This is acceptable as an adaptation, but doesn't really merit much credit either.
Lastly, the message of the animation has already been made by the comic, but it regardless is made incredibly well through a number of visual and audio methods, so your addition there is excellent.

Other than that, I find it somewhat ironic that the animation is followed by the links to the pages of the social media just described, but I suppose you can't buy food or pay bills with morality.


People find this review helpful!

oshkoshboshnoshoshkoshboshnosh

Rated 3 / 5 stars October 8, 2013

thre is something wrong with the ratings in this video :I,but i like it



morcovmorcov

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

we as humans seek attention. what is the issue? of course you posted this video for attention. is it an awful thing that we can take a break from life and have a good laugh on twitter?

well animated however



TOMJENKINSTOMJENKINS

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

true