Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2013 | 10:46 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 9, 2013
  • Daily Feature October 7, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"The Social Media Generation"

This is an adaptation from the original comic "Marc Maron: The social media generation" by Zen Pencils.
http://zenpencils.com/comic/129-marc-maron-the-social-media-generation/

The script used in that comic is a quote from Marc Maron's book "Attempting Normal".

This animation is also available on youtube in HD.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGU8yjjJXD8

Enjoy! :)

Reviews


ArticKillerArticKiller

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 14, 2013

I'm going to be brutally honest with you, this work is just saying "wake up sheeple" in a kind tone that sill retains just a hint of condescending attitude, just a hint though. While phone addiction is a problem, it's not an issue that everyone suffers from, and I do believe that comparison to the crack addict has something to do with the study that shows how a social media junkie's brain looks the same as a crack junkie's brain under an MRI, but then again, nobody really knows what that truly means. After all, social media addiction certainly doesn't have the same direct physiological effects of a cocaine addiction, and the average person who hears about that study probably has no idea as to what to do with an MRI scan. Your point isn't necessarily bad, you just take it too far and present it in a fasion that just says "wake up sheeple!"

Also, is this some kind of a joke, because at the end of the video, you give us a like on Facebook button, a follow on twitter button, and a plus one button for google plus [insert generic and badly thought out joke about google plus's complete lack of people who are on it here (what do you expect, I don't right my own comedy)]


People find this review helpful!

warewolveswarewolves

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

I guess I relate, but I've never been much of a social media person. I don't have a facebook, I rarely glance at twitter, and I use tumblr to follow amusing comics.

I think I relate because of youtube. It's not the thumbs up that does it for me, or the views. It's the comments telling me what they thought of it. I can't improve without critics. However most comments are sadly one word quips such as 'awesome'

I quess I relate, but then again I'm on the computer a lot.



Link1310Link1310

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 11, 2013

An addict is wanting attention eh? Animation good, the concept great, your execution terrible. Posting something like this then advertising your facebook, twitter, youtube, and google+ at the end just screams you missed the whole point of what the original was.


People find this review helpful!

MiffDasbootMiffDasboot

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

Fun adaptation. Fun to watch in this form.

Not a fan of the generalized message from Marc Maron. But, it's true to the extent that some abuse social media like heroin all the same.

Plus, "#loser" made me laugh.


People find this review helpful!

WakaremichiWakaremichi

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 8, 2013

Yeah great critic.
Too bad there are both facebook's like and twitter's follow buttons at the end.