Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2013 | 10:46 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 9, 2013
  • Daily Feature October 7, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"The Social Media Generation"

This is an adaptation from the original comic "Marc Maron: The social media generation" by Zen Pencils.
http://zenpencils.com/comic/129-marc-maron-the-social-media-generation/

The script used in that comic is a quote from Marc Maron's book "Attempting Normal".

This animation is also available on youtube in HD.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGU8yjjJXD8

Enjoy! :)

Reviews


RoterunRoterun

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 6, 2013

Very nice, I like how the colorlessness gives off that ambient, slightly depressing feeling.



ItAteMyKidneysItAteMyKidneys

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

You did a good job capturing the scary-true effect that these networks have on our society.

Additionally, the thing about "likes." Some people treat and refer to them like a precious commodity, mentioning them as if they're important in some way. There are even Facebook pages created for nothing more than "likes," where people trick people into commenting, sharing or liking their shit, just for the empty satisfaction.

It's also prevalent on Youtube--there are people who post just for people to "like" their comment. "Like my comment if [something something]!"
Or then there's the common need for others' approval on something:
"Anyone else notice/think/do [some thing pertaining to the video]?"
I've even seen, or had people say "lol ur just jealous because they have more likes than you," projecting their piddly sense of value onto someone else.


People find this review helpful!

trackiatrackia

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 11, 2013

Well, I'm not an adult, but I'm still guilty of this. Gotta agree people on social networking sites are like this for the most part.



phillip1354phillip1354

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 8, 2013

this should be rated T instead of E
because of the junkie scene



CyberdevilCyberdevil

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

Getting high on drugs in one cubicle, getting high on FB in the other. This would be fun if it wasn't so sadly true, the world really is like this. Everywhere you go people are just glaring at blaring screens, not really aware of the sceneries around them, no longer interacting like normal people. It's a generation that's become social from a distance. Great idea; a great way to introduce it. Keep it going!

-cd-


People find this review helpful!