Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2013 | 10:46 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 9, 2013
  • Daily Feature October 7, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"The Social Media Generation"

This is an adaptation from the original comic "Marc Maron: The social media generation" by Zen Pencils.
http://zenpencils.com/comic/129-marc-maron-the-social-media-generation/

The script used in that comic is a quote from Marc Maron's book "Attempting Normal".

This animation is also available on youtube in HD.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGU8yjjJXD8

Enjoy! :)

Reviews


ottenskjoldottenskjold

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 11, 2013

i don't agree with a line of thought such as this at all. the animation and voice acting, as well as the concept, however, are superb.


People find this review helpful!

Basset-HoundBasset-Hound

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

Nice movie to start a discussion over. I really liked the animation style, it was fresh and original. As for the message... is you making this movie and uploading it to Newgrounds not a cry for attention?
Is this review I'm writing and the ones below me not a cry for attention? Social media is a really obvious way to see it, but its been this way since the beginning of mankind because we are species that survive best in groups.



DpuntoEpuntoNDpuntoEpuntoN

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 12, 2013

I like, even though the issue is somewhat worn



monpekokeromonpekokero

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 9, 2013

It is an interesting thought but at the same time, over simplified of what it all is.


People find this review helpful!

Nester64Nester64

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 6, 2013

I have a cell phone, but I resent it.

I use facebook to talk with friends who have moved away, and then only irregularly. I also use it to share interesting things on the web, such at this animation. "Look at these things!" I say. I think it means that I do not concentrate on myself, but I wonder if I am so different after all. Am I trying to get other people to acknowledge me through acknowledging something else? I do not believe so...

I am happy that I do not have a twitter account, as the idea of sharing constant "status updates" about my thoughts is revolting to me. I am comfortable going more than an hour without meaningful human interaction, even days, if nothing presents itself. Occasionally, I do wish to talk to another human being, but half the time they are staring at their cellphones and have earbuds in their ears. Is social media killing social interaction?

For better or worse, I intend to share this on facebook. I'm part of the shrinking minority that believes communication is about provoking meaningful thought in another entity, instead of affirming one's own existence. Vote me down, vote me up, skim me over, whatever. I am aware that I am shouting into the dark, and I do not expect even an echo. I do not need to know whether I impact somebody to make my actions, and even my existence worthwhile


People find this review helpful!