Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2013 | 10:46 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 9, 2013
  • Daily Feature October 7, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"The Social Media Generation"

This is an adaptation from the original comic "Marc Maron: The social media generation" by Zen Pencils.
http://zenpencils.com/comic/129-marc-maron-the-social-media-generation/

The script used in that comic is a quote from Marc Maron's book "Attempting Normal".

This animation is also available on youtube in HD.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGU8yjjJXD8

Enjoy! :)

Reviews


PatrickLPatrickL

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 13, 2013

I do have a Facebook account, though I am not sure why I even bothered - I never use it. I am the kind of person the world ignores completely. Not a nice feeling.
But when I watch this, I feel kind of proud. Superior. Does that make me a bad person?



AethosAethos

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

I don't have a facebook, or twitter, only Google + but tht comes with Gmail
The one time I did have it was for a short while in senior year out of curiousity, but I got bored quickly and just got rid of my account before the years end, so I can't relate directly to this.
I can, however, say they people have definably become more isolated over the years.
Before the Ipod and Mp3 craze, you wouldn't see everyone listening to music and tuning out the world (Trust me, much more cumbersome to take a CD or cassette compared to an Mp3, and there's many less songs on said CD/Cassette).
I remember a time where you could just chat with someone, even a stranger, on a bus.
Or actually call someone to talk with them instead of texting; boy do I miss being able to actually hear tone and mood rather than guess it from words.
Oh well, what can you do?


People find this review helpful!

RogueRobotRogueRobot

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 8, 2013

Makes a cartoon criticizing social media. Social media littered on the loading screen.


People find this review helpful!

raspberrybooraspberryboo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 27, 2013

true chiz on most peoples parts i felt like their should have been more though



KwingKwing

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 10, 2013

You've got a good start here, but there's so much missing. I like your voice actor and your dialogue. Your art and animation is even pretty good - not perfect, but for the style you're going for I like it the way it is. My biggest issue is that it ends too soon. You talk about only one small segment of what social media has done, when your animation is just opening up for an entire slew of commentaries on the way we live.

You're also only covering one small demographic of people who use social media constantly. To be fair, I don't use Facebook frequently, nor do I bother keeping connecting with people for the most part, but there are a large amount of people already aware at how pointless social media has become.

This needs to be a lot longer.


People find this review helpful!