Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2013 | 10:46 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 9, 2013
  • Daily Feature October 7, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"The Social Media Generation"

This is an adaptation from the original comic "Marc Maron: The social media generation" by Zen Pencils.
http://zenpencils.com/comic/129-marc-maron-the-social-media-generation/

The script used in that comic is a quote from Marc Maron's book "Attempting Normal".

This animation is also available on youtube in HD.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGU8yjjJXD8

Enjoy! :)

Reviews


Kaiger1Kaiger1

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 12, 2013

I thought it was a great commentary about social media's impact. And with the last scene I'd pose a question: Who is the worse junkie? The one getting high off of drugs, or the one getting high off of acceptance? You don't get a full five because the transitions and animation was a little choppy. Other than that I like it.


People find this review helpful!

FarelLabanFarelLaban

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 12, 2013

@Jess-The-Dragoon #ILikeit


People find this review helpful!

jUxtApOsEd2wInjUxtApOsEd2wIn

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 12, 2013

I couldn't agree more brother.... or.... sist... or... whatever you're not my family lol. I feel a strong attachment to your work though. Thank you for sharing. I will immediately, share this with my facebook-junkie fiance'.



killingspeerxkillingspeerx

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 12, 2013

GOD DAMN IT!!!!!

this need 100 stars, man these were my thought exactly, and this video is not for fun but it describes a serious issue that most people are facing nowasayds without knowing!!!



Poopsmith890Poopsmith890

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 12, 2013

I really really like this. This was an especially well thought out and mature piece of work, and for that I commend you.
Your narrator was excellent, he represented the mood exactly as you intended it to be.
Your animation and illustration was done brilliantly, in my opinion. This obviously wasn't you using animation as a way to improve your skills solely, this was you using animation to prove a point. There is something truly mature and admirable about that.
Your statements, however pretty general, are presented really well. There were so many small artistic touches you used to make the world seem dreary, the sound design, the lack of colour, the luminosity of the phones in contrast-- it just all seemed to work.
My favourite part of this was that subtle comparison you made between the two at the end between the junkie and the iPhone user. That subtley shows great respect for your audience, which is another reason I honestly think this is a profondly meaningful and mature animation.
I can tell you presented exactly as you intended, well done!


People find this review helpful!