Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2013 | 10:46 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 9, 2013
  • Daily Feature October 7, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"The Social Media Generation"

This is an adaptation from the original comic "Marc Maron: The social media generation" by Zen Pencils.
http://zenpencils.com/comic/129-marc-maron-the-social-media-generation/

The script used in that comic is a quote from Marc Maron's book "Attempting Normal".

This animation is also available on youtube in HD.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGU8yjjJXD8

Enjoy! :)

Reviews


ironhide1ironhide1

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 6, 2013

This is so true,its tragic. I think we all have forgotten how to live without our phones. Love the art style and if I may say one thing,Think before you post or snap a pic.


People find this review helpful!

StickmaniazStickmaniaz

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 6, 2013

nice anyway, the color and styles give me a creeps ._.



RoterunRoterun

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 6, 2013

Very nice, I like how the colorlessness gives off that ambient, slightly depressing feeling.



Atlaz88Atlaz88

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 6, 2013

It was entertaining, deserves a 5.



Nester64Nester64

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 6, 2013

I have a cell phone, but I resent it.

I use facebook to talk with friends who have moved away, and then only irregularly. I also use it to share interesting things on the web, such at this animation. "Look at these things!" I say. I think it means that I do not concentrate on myself, but I wonder if I am so different after all. Am I trying to get other people to acknowledge me through acknowledging something else? I do not believe so...

I am happy that I do not have a twitter account, as the idea of sharing constant "status updates" about my thoughts is revolting to me. I am comfortable going more than an hour without meaningful human interaction, even days, if nothing presents itself. Occasionally, I do wish to talk to another human being, but half the time they are staring at their cellphones and have earbuds in their ears. Is social media killing social interaction?

For better or worse, I intend to share this on facebook. I'm part of the shrinking minority that believes communication is about provoking meaningful thought in another entity, instead of affirming one's own existence. Vote me down, vote me up, skim me over, whatever. I am aware that I am shouting into the dark, and I do not expect even an echo. I do not need to know whether I impact somebody to make my actions, and even my existence worthwhile


People find this review helpful!