Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2013 | 10:46 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 9, 2013
  • Daily Feature October 7, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"The Social Media Generation"

This is an adaptation from the original comic "Marc Maron: The social media generation" by Zen Pencils.
http://zenpencils.com/comic/129-marc-maron-the-social-media-generation/

The script used in that comic is a quote from Marc Maron's book "Attempting Normal".

This animation is also available on youtube in HD.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGU8yjjJXD8

Enjoy! :)

Reviews


ZordragonZordragon

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

Im here just to say that you are a genious.



KitashintoKitashinto

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

Figured this much a while back. And have actually started to use less and less Facebook until the day I stop using it. (I have a twitter account that only use to know about the status of my college. i.e: there's a hurracane and classes get canceled. Other than that, I don't use it.)

Anyway. Really good animation, loved the voice and, as many others, thought it was rather short. Keep up the good work!



bomboybomboy

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

I lked your animation so much that I shared it on Facebook.

#irony



ItAteMyKidneysItAteMyKidneys

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

You did a good job capturing the scary-true effect that these networks have on our society.

Additionally, the thing about "likes." Some people treat and refer to them like a precious commodity, mentioning them as if they're important in some way. There are even Facebook pages created for nothing more than "likes," where people trick people into commenting, sharing or liking their shit, just for the empty satisfaction.

It's also prevalent on Youtube--there are people who post just for people to "like" their comment. "Like my comment if [something something]!"
Or then there's the common need for others' approval on something:
"Anyone else notice/think/do [some thing pertaining to the video]?"
I've even seen, or had people say "lol ur just jealous because they have more likes than you," projecting their piddly sense of value onto someone else.


People find this review helpful!

BlordowBlordow

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

Glad other people realize how disgracefully attention seeking and egotistical it is to be literally glued to social networking, bragging about needless mundane activities, look at me, i do things in real life! i'm social! I feel like I am the only one out there who doesn't have his lead looking down at a fucking smart phone. Great work all round, from the artwork, voice acting, and overall tone.


People find this review helpful!