Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2013 | 10:46 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 9, 2013
  • Daily Feature October 7, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"The Social Media Generation"

This is an adaptation from the original comic "Marc Maron: The social media generation" by Zen Pencils.
http://zenpencils.com/comic/129-marc-maron-the-social-media-generation/

The script used in that comic is a quote from Marc Maron's book "Attempting Normal".

This animation is also available on youtube in HD.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGU8yjjJXD8

Enjoy! :)

Reviews


DenimMageDenimMage

Rated 1 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

Come on, guys. I can't be the only person giving this video a negative review. This is one of the most one-sidedly cynical videos I've ever seen, and it seems like it was conceptualized by paranoid people as well.

While it's true that MOST people use Facebook-- and NEARLY ALL people use Twitter-- for uninformative attention, to assume that everyone does this is extremely cynical. I hate the atmosphere of this video, treating social networking as a monochrome dystopia where everything is frightening and bland.

For some people, Facebook is the opposite of what you say. Some of us WANT to hear what other people say, WANT to keep up with other people, and enjoy subscriptions of and updates of information from various feeds, ranging from a contest put out by the creators of Batman: The Animated Series to new information from political-moral pillars like DemandProgress.org.

Just because YOU don't use Facebook for anything useful or bonding and YOU don't have any friends who do, does NOT mean that nobody does. Facebook is, when all is said and done, a good tool used stupidly by many, just like a can of spray paint.

The drama in this video really bothers me. I mean, it's one thing to ask IF social networking sites provide anything valuable and lead up to the conclusion that they don't with science, reasoning, and statistics; but it's another thing entirely to take us through this slow, dramatic, dystopian walk that implies that its statements and questions are facts that we all must face.

Seriously, you're not doing ENOUGH thinking. Lighten up a bit and weigh both sides.



SaucedVineFan100SaucedVineFan100

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

Oh man, man. Oh-ho MAN. This seems so true. I can't agree more!

Anyways, I feel like you should have extended the end to a question of why people who care about others on facebook or twitter end up haying each other sometimes? What I mean is that why do flame wars even exist? That baffles me, and I wish you would've mentioned it.


People find this review helpful!

DalailamaDalailama

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

Thats 2014 for ya, all tech and no life.



ZordragonZordragon

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

Im here just to say that you are a genious.



KitashintoKitashinto

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

Figured this much a while back. And have actually started to use less and less Facebook until the day I stop using it. (I have a twitter account that only use to know about the status of my college. i.e: there's a hurracane and classes get canceled. Other than that, I don't use it.)

Anyway. Really good animation, loved the voice and, as many others, thought it was rather short. Keep up the good work!