Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2013 | 10:46 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 9, 2013
  • Daily Feature October 7, 2013

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"The Social Media Generation"

This is an adaptation from the original comic "Marc Maron: The social media generation" by Zen Pencils.
http://zenpencils.com/comic/129-marc-maron-the-social-media-generation/

The script used in that comic is a quote from Marc Maron's book "Attempting Normal".

This animation is also available on youtube in HD.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGU8yjjJXD8

Enjoy! :)

Reviews


warewolveswarewolves

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

I guess I relate, but I've never been much of a social media person. I don't have a facebook, I rarely glance at twitter, and I use tumblr to follow amusing comics.

I think I relate because of youtube. It's not the thumbs up that does it for me, or the views. It's the comments telling me what they thought of it. I can't improve without critics. However most comments are sadly one word quips such as 'awesome'

I quess I relate, but then again I'm on the computer a lot.



AethosAethos

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

I don't have a facebook, or twitter, only Google + but tht comes with Gmail
The one time I did have it was for a short while in senior year out of curiousity, but I got bored quickly and just got rid of my account before the years end, so I can't relate directly to this.
I can, however, say they people have definably become more isolated over the years.
Before the Ipod and Mp3 craze, you wouldn't see everyone listening to music and tuning out the world (Trust me, much more cumbersome to take a CD or cassette compared to an Mp3, and there's many less songs on said CD/Cassette).
I remember a time where you could just chat with someone, even a stranger, on a bus.
Or actually call someone to talk with them instead of texting; boy do I miss being able to actually hear tone and mood rather than guess it from words.
Oh well, what can you do?


People find this review helpful!

Bigfoot3290Bigfoot3290

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

Absolutely loved the last scene and all of the juicy symbolism. Very well done, and I agree that the baby boomers abuse FB/Twitter at least as much as Millennials.


People find this review helpful!

GreenIceGreenIce

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

creepy, cold and so true

love the final scene with the phone looking just like the junkies' needle
well done


People find this review helpful!

spirit9871spirit9871

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

So true. Excuse me while I share this on Facebook.

No seriously; I'm glad you made this to make people aware. Technology now revolutionized society to the point where people just begin to operate like machines themselves. Real social interaction now has become obsolete, because you don't have to go outside and talk to someone face-to-face when you have Internet. Yes; technology has its massive benefits, but we can all agree its trade-offs are absolutely devastating to culture, originality of thought, and the freedom to say something without being monitored.

Good stuff; keep it up man. :)

~Spirit


People find this review helpful!