Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2013 | 10:46 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 9, 2013
  • Daily Feature October 7, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"The Social Media Generation"

This is an adaptation from the original comic "Marc Maron: The social media generation" by Zen Pencils.
http://zenpencils.com/comic/129-marc-maron-the-social-media-generation/

The script used in that comic is a quote from Marc Maron's book "Attempting Normal".

This animation is also available on youtube in HD.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGU8yjjJXD8

Enjoy! :)

Reviews


nikkznikkz

Rated 3 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

Well I'm not going to further fan the fire of social networks being a nest of lies and insecurity, but simply say that how one uses them is a choice and not a general rule.
As for the animation itself, I generally like its style and messsage, but find some things unclear. For starters, the plot and majority of the images are borrowed from a comic you have cited, which makes it hard to give points for originality or artwork. The audio and adapted script have been done well, although there's two things I find a bit off. Firstly, I'm not sure if an infant would really use "acknowledge" for a lack of attention and secondly, I don't think the change in narrator's perspective from 1st to 3rd with the "but they are not beyond abusing him" comes across as well as it does in the comic.
In regard of the animated component, it seems a bit too minimalistic. Although there is some motion in the images, it does still resemble a comic with tweens more than an animation. This is acceptable as an adaptation, but doesn't really merit much credit either.
Lastly, the message of the animation has already been made by the comic, but it regardless is made incredibly well through a number of visual and audio methods, so your addition there is excellent.

Other than that, I find it somewhat ironic that the animation is followed by the links to the pages of the social media just described, but I suppose you can't buy food or pay bills with morality.


People find this review helpful!

ZenenemenoZenenemeno

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

Dude, amazing work. that final scene just made the whole thing so much more kick ass



snake9765snake9765

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

I don't have a facebook or twitter. I missed the train and just never got on. So it's just me acknowledging myself. Unless I want to go old school and just visit my friends at their place of course. Then we can just bullshit in private.


People find this review helpful!

warewolveswarewolves

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

I guess I relate, but I've never been much of a social media person. I don't have a facebook, I rarely glance at twitter, and I use tumblr to follow amusing comics.

I think I relate because of youtube. It's not the thumbs up that does it for me, or the views. It's the comments telling me what they thought of it. I can't improve without critics. However most comments are sadly one word quips such as 'awesome'

I quess I relate, but then again I'm on the computer a lot.



AethosAethos

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

I don't have a facebook, or twitter, only Google + but tht comes with Gmail
The one time I did have it was for a short while in senior year out of curiousity, but I got bored quickly and just got rid of my account before the years end, so I can't relate directly to this.
I can, however, say they people have definably become more isolated over the years.
Before the Ipod and Mp3 craze, you wouldn't see everyone listening to music and tuning out the world (Trust me, much more cumbersome to take a CD or cassette compared to an Mp3, and there's many less songs on said CD/Cassette).
I remember a time where you could just chat with someone, even a stranger, on a bus.
Or actually call someone to talk with them instead of texting; boy do I miss being able to actually hear tone and mood rather than guess it from words.
Oh well, what can you do?


People find this review helpful!