Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2013 | 10:46 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 9, 2013
  • Daily Feature October 7, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"The Social Media Generation"

This is an adaptation from the original comic "Marc Maron: The social media generation" by Zen Pencils.
http://zenpencils.com/comic/129-marc-maron-the-social-media-generation/

The script used in that comic is a quote from Marc Maron's book "Attempting Normal".

This animation is also available on youtube in HD.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGU8yjjJXD8

Enjoy! :)

Reviews


animationsteveanimationsteve

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

I saw the comic version of this on Facebook. Was it originally a comic or originally an animation? Very nice thought. Kinda true.


Jess-The-Dragoon responds:

It was originally a comic. Thanks for watching! :)


MiffDasbootMiffDasboot

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

Fun adaptation. Fun to watch in this form.

Not a fan of the generalized message from Marc Maron. But, it's true to the extent that some abuse social media like heroin all the same.

Plus, "#loser" made me laugh.


People find this review helpful!

SevenSeizeSevenSeize

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

I think some people may simply have addictive personalities and will find something to constantly be doing no matter what. In the 80s and the 90s, women shouted at their husbands to get off the couch and quit watching TV.......I know before I had a smart phone I could check constantly, I was addicted to Newgrounds. I could stay up all night on Newgrounds. But it is an excellent comparison, and a good message. I'm working hard on taking time away from social media. Good job on the animation!


People find this review helpful!

YatsufusaYatsufusa

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

I like both you message and your stile. That you gave proper credit to the original source is also something that became a rare feat amongst authors. After visiting Zenpencils and looking at the original I must say you did a good job animating the scene stills. You have a good feeling for pace and your dubbing came out very nicely.

Surprisingly, what I like the most about this is that many reviewers actually reflect on you message. A good portion of them don't even seem to have Twitter or Facebook accounts - like myself. Over time, I've developed an expectation that, while user's overall reception of critical work such as yours is very positive, most don't 'think' about it. And I'm so very glad I'm not proven right this time.


People find this review helpful!

DjMidnight00DjMidnight00

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 7, 2013

What if I just want to talk with my friends?


Jess-The-Dragoon responds:

That's absolutely fine.