Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2013 | 3:17 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place August 28, 2013
  • Weekly 5th Place August 28, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

A short 2D platformer about the adventures of a cat, a wrench, and a clock.

Made in 48 hours for Ludum Dare 27, with the theme “10 Seconds.”

Link to LD page: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=14266

Thanks for front page, daily 2nd, and weekly 5th! :D

Reviews


CrawldragonCrawldragon

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 23, 2013

You have to play this game at least once. Seriously, just do it.

Some games you play because you want a high-pressure, high-stakes challenge to really get your adrenaline pumping. Some games you play because your blood pressure is too high and you just need something positive in your life.

This game is incredibly charming, with a simple pixelated look which (and let's be fair) is quite overdone in modern video games, but which is appreciated nonetheless. It contributes to the cute, charming look of the game, and it goes with the simplistic and accessible gameplay quite nicely without ever getting in the way. What I'm saying here is the game looks nice on top of playing nice, okay?

The object of the game is simple enough: Poor little pixel cat can't get to sleep because of all of the noise the clock is making, so he winds it back until he can stop it for good. The game is short, but packed full of enough platforming challenges and simple logic puzzles to keep you satisfied. It's kind of like Portal in that way, but like I said this is a game that you play for something quiet and positive rather than the action-packed nonstop barrage of complex gameplay that Portal and other such "condensed" games often have.

The game does have some challenges for the HARRRRRRRDCORE gamers out there, in the form of at least one small fish pickup. I can't for the life of me figure out how to get it or if there's more than one, but it's a nice touch. Maybe one day I'll dedicate myself to trying to get it for the bragging rights, but the game doesn't really need to give its players bragging rights to be good.

I wouldn't say the game is "artful" because just sticking some pixels and calming music on the game doesn't make it an "art" title, but it's a perfectly strong little platformer/puzzler that has exactly the amount of content that you need for it. I say again: Play this at least once. You'll thank yourself later.


People find this review helpful!

bsinkybsinky

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 22, 2013

Wow. This is a fantastic and original game in any context, but to have made this is 48 hours for a Ludum Dare makes it all the more impressive. I have nothing but praise for Clockwork Cat! The art is wonderful and works well, and is complemented by the simple sounds as well. A masterfully done game!



AngelicaTasuminAngelicaTasumin

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 22, 2013

Cute little game. Beautiful music


People find this review helpful!

PETTdavidsPETTdavids

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 21, 2013

NOM ^_^
Great game, relaxing music, beautiful for ludum dare, and a little hidden secret on the side.



IAteUrKIttenIAteUrKItten

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 21, 2013

I love it! it was challenging but, really fun!