Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 7, 2013 | 7:06 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice August 14, 2013
  • Review Crew Pick August 14, 2013
  • Daily Feature August 8, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This animation was made in 3 weeks for the finals of the Newgrounds Annual Tournament of Animation 2013. When I first entered this year I'd never expected to actually make it to make it this far, but I'm glad I did because I feel like I've learned a lot from this.
The theme for this round was "a dark confession". At first I wasn't that fond of the theme, because I was afraid that I'd have to make something with a dark and eerie colour scheme, like in my last animation - And I had kind of grown tired of that already. While traveling a bit around the country I came up with another take on the theme, which I wrote down and storyboarded on a napkin in the bus. The idea of a dark truth surfacing - the more psychological aspect of a self-confession is what I ended up going with. Here's what I wrote in the bus:

"Little Merry lives in an iceberg below the surface of the sea. She's a perfectionist and doesn't like when things are out of the ordinary, so she has made it her job to make sure the truth-bubbles that makes it to the surface are absolutely perfect. One day, however she comes across a truth that she doesn't like, and has a hard time getting rid of."

I'd like to say that "could have done so and so better", but to be honest I think I gave it all I can right now, with the time limit being in place. Because of this I don't really think I'll feel bad whether I "win or lose" in these finals. It's been great.

- Now, this animation didn't need voice acting, but I felt like a generic soundtrack found on the internet wouldn't do it justice either, so I asked Matthew to help out. He did an amazing job on the music, which he made to the actual animation in these last days before the deadline. It was a great experience actually working with a composer, rather than using a premade piece of music.

-------------------------
---

Notes from the composer:
First off I'd like to say that it really is an honor to OFFICIALLY be part of the NATA Contest and in the final round! I have been working with Hikarian for a while now and I feel that we do some really great work together! Anyways, when it came down to this piece I pretty much worked on it last minute and it seemed quite a challenge when Hikarian presented the animation to me so I could then score it. The hardest part was that it was requested to be piano only. All in all, I gave it some thought and applied a lot of orchestration technique to make it seem like a bigger score than it is since it's only for piano. There are many elements of minimalism that I feel best fit Hikarian's style. Some shifts in tonal centricity help to complement the shift in events, mood, and expressions as seen in the animation. Other compositional techniques in regard to harmony are relatively simple only really using modal and octatonic chord scales. Rhythms were a bit tricky, but that's what you commonly find in film scores as the music needs to change and adapt to the timing of the picture.

Because this was a pretty big contest I decided to notate and score the piece with my spotting notes for those who are interested in looking at the score. You can download it here:
tinyurl.com/k8fgjsu

Again, it was really great to work with Hikarian and to officially be part of the NATA contest.

- Matthew (deadlyfishes)

Reviews


PikalolzPikalolz

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 27, 2014

The guy below me is an idiot for thinking the guy below them is an idiot. The animation is beautiful, but the story isn't very interesting.


People find this review helpful!

DarkYagami321DarkYagami321

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 16, 2014

The guy below me is an idiot. I loved it dearly :)



WaflCakeWaflCake

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars February 6, 2014

Really fluent animation and creative art. I like the style you went with in the visual side.
But I'm going to have to dock you majorly because this is infected with the stank of the generic-ass otaku-wetdream Newgrounds bullshit.

You know what I mean.

The animation that has something more to it in a spiritual sense but is loosely based on that moral for the people here in the review section who somehow generate the deep meaning of a tuna sandwich.

"Oh how POWERFUL
Oh, this was DEEP
I love the MESSAGE it brings"

Yeah, those assholes.

Even so, this "deep meaning" is generic, over used, overrated, and plenty of moronic people will make up some "psychologically deep" bullshit out of nothing.

2 and a half stars. Adequate.



illuminashockilluminashock

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 23, 2014

Without actually reading the intro text, I'm afraid I didn't understand the plot or what was going on in this animation. You send a complex message in a medium that otherwise doesn't handle it well. I like your animation though - the drawing style is great and the background music flows quite well with it. I'm surprised there wasn't something like silent film text or something to help speed things along and avoid confusion.


People find this review helpful!

Red95Red95

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 20, 2014

that was a very powerful message that is very accurate; thank you.