Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 7, 2013 | 7:06 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice August 14, 2013
  • Review Crew Pick August 14, 2013
  • Daily Feature August 8, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

This animation was made in 3 weeks for the finals of the Newgrounds Annual Tournament of Animation 2013. When I first entered this year I'd never expected to actually make it to make it this far, but I'm glad I did because I feel like I've learned a lot from this.
The theme for this round was "a dark confession". At first I wasn't that fond of the theme, because I was afraid that I'd have to make something with a dark and eerie colour scheme, like in my last animation - And I had kind of grown tired of that already. While traveling a bit around the country I came up with another take on the theme, which I wrote down and storyboarded on a napkin in the bus. The idea of a dark truth surfacing - the more psychological aspect of a self-confession is what I ended up going with. Here's what I wrote in the bus:

"Little Merry lives in an iceberg below the surface of the sea. She's a perfectionist and doesn't like when things are out of the ordinary, so she has made it her job to make sure the truth-bubbles that makes it to the surface are absolutely perfect. One day, however she comes across a truth that she doesn't like, and has a hard time getting rid of."

I'd like to say that "could have done so and so better", but to be honest I think I gave it all I can right now, with the time limit being in place. Because of this I don't really think I'll feel bad whether I "win or lose" in these finals. It's been great.

- Now, this animation didn't need voice acting, but I felt like a generic soundtrack found on the internet wouldn't do it justice either, so I asked Matthew to help out. He did an amazing job on the music, which he made to the actual animation in these last days before the deadline. It was a great experience actually working with a composer, rather than using a premade piece of music.

-------------------------
---

Notes from the composer:
First off I'd like to say that it really is an honor to OFFICIALLY be part of the NATA Contest and in the final round! I have been working with Hikarian for a while now and I feel that we do some really great work together! Anyways, when it came down to this piece I pretty much worked on it last minute and it seemed quite a challenge when Hikarian presented the animation to me so I could then score it. The hardest part was that it was requested to be piano only. All in all, I gave it some thought and applied a lot of orchestration technique to make it seem like a bigger score than it is since it's only for piano. There are many elements of minimalism that I feel best fit Hikarian's style. Some shifts in tonal centricity help to complement the shift in events, mood, and expressions as seen in the animation. Other compositional techniques in regard to harmony are relatively simple only really using modal and octatonic chord scales. Rhythms were a bit tricky, but that's what you commonly find in film scores as the music needs to change and adapt to the timing of the picture.

Because this was a pretty big contest I decided to notate and score the piece with my spotting notes for those who are interested in looking at the score. You can download it here:
tinyurl.com/k8fgjsu

Again, it was really great to work with Hikarian and to officially be part of the NATA contest.

- Matthew (deadlyfishes)

Reviews


Dazz316Dazz316

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 9, 2013

That spoke volumes. You are a fantastic writer, so talented.


People find this review helpful!

09CArventos09CArventos

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 8, 2013

That was quite the beautifully-made entry for the final round.
Hikrian was definatly a great animator in this year's NATA.


People find this review helpful!

KitAlinaTDATDIKitAlinaTDATDI

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 8, 2013

I absolutely love this. The style is cute, the music is immersive, and you were able to convey an important message through a very touching story. Great job!


People find this review helpful!

ErichoEricho

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 8, 2013

From the title, it looked like it was going to be The Little Mermaid. I wasn't that far off because it does take place in the ocean. It was interesting how you were able to piece the story together with the images. True, I did go and read the author's comments because I was confused. It's just a very gracefully told story. I hope we can all learn to accept our problems like this.

At least, I think that's what the cartoon was saying. It helps that the animation was gorgeous. You know how to get cute characters down so well. The title makes it also seem like a merry go round. You know how to get a lot of different interpretations with just a title.



ZandolafZandolaf

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 8, 2013

Pretty. It is sad, but it all makes up a good story.


People find this review helpful!