Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 10, 2013 | 6:49 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 12, 2013
  • Weekly 2nd Place July 17, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The Youtube version NOW HAS SUBTITLES.... I don't know if and how I can do it here. Check out my youtube if you want subs.

The template for this animation is the myth of the otter and the rabbit. Obviously I've replaced "Otter" with "Lizard." This is only because there seems to be a running gag with "lizard" having their fish stolen among native myth. The otter and the rabbit is the only instance where fish was stolen from someone other than lizard, so... I changed it to lizard.

So here it is Wrip and Calamity put aside their differences (grudgingly) for the sake of betterment... and when I say betterment I mean screwin' with ornery folk...No they won't drown... it's a shallow pool after it's mostly emptied....Can't have them dehydrating.^^0

Freesound.org Sound effects-

UncleSigmund (harmonica guy)
Jankoehl
davidou
justkiddink
Scottferguson1
and cms4f

Reviews


Kurk44Kurk44

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 12, 2013

First off I want to say that this surprised me, not much does these days do. The thing that surprised me the most were the characters. Now, I'm often pretty harsh when mentally judging characters, their designs, personality, and back-stories (this is a big one because it's pretty easy to think you have a great back-story when really it is like a randomly stitch together plot), but these two characters (the rabbit and lizard) I actually liked, a lot. The personalities of the rabbit fit her pretty well, but the personality of the lizard was surprisingly unique AND well done, which is not an easy thing to pull off. I've even seen professional cartoons that can't pull that kind of character together. Now, I'm not very familiar with your word, but watching this has convinced me that I need to be. The voices were smooth and pleasant to listen to, and the character design was sleek and interesting. Usually when people make their own world, they don't make it very believable, but I enjoyed this little portal into this world of magic and animal-people because it stayed in the realm of believable. Also, one thing that is never noticed when done right, is sound editing, the sounds and music and voices in this animation were all balanced so you hear each noise clearly when you need too (i.e. when someone talks, background noises and music are toned down, but sound effects are never completely drowned out by too loud voices). The dialogue itself was pretty good, it actual made me laugh and the crazy man was very well done, it's easy to put less effort into a gag character, but there was no evidence of that here, so that's good. Now I don't see much wrong with this and I always like to point out what I think people can improve on. So, I'll say that the characters could use more detail on each frame to make it look absolutely amazing. Also, the gradient on the lizards frill/hair plus the pattern on her shall looks a bit out of place compared to the colouring on everything else. It might just be my personal preference, but I think everything should be coloured using the same technique to give the whole animation a sense of unity in the colours. Also, it would look awesome if the characters were more flexible (I am by no means saying that they're stiff), more like "looney tunes" flexible, not too flexible, but those moments when the characters pop a significant expression on their face (the kinds you would put in your storyboard) the characters face should show a bit more elasticity. One thing that an animator should always remember is to draw your key poses then draw them again with more exaggeration and you'll see a difference for sure when you playback the animation (It may not work for your scene to exaggerate too much, but it never hurts to try). Now, I'm not saying that you don't already know a lot of this, but a reminder is always helpful.
So I want to end off by saying Thank-you for reading my long ass comment, I tend to talk a lot when I get thinking and I look forward to watching the rest of your animations.

TL;DR version, I liked this a lot, a few small areas where you can improve

4/5 because I've become VERY strict on giving perfect scores.


People find this review helpful!

JolerJoler

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 12, 2013

good job


People find this review helpful!

AuroraKidAuroraKid

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 12, 2013

There was a lot of singing, wasnt there? A lot of beautiful singing.
Damn scarecrows. Mine is always running off.



A-GeniusA-Genius

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 12, 2013

I always like to watch your stuff ! but I found that the voices a bit low and I try to to raise it up the music and the water sound just prevent me from listening to the voices! that's all I think wrong with the animation otherwise, your animation is nice as always!



BloodPactBloodPact

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 12, 2013

Love your animation and voice acting as always Betsy! Can't wait for Swingers episode 7!