Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 10, 2013 | 6:49 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 12, 2013
  • Weekly 2nd Place July 17, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The Youtube version NOW HAS SUBTITLES.... I don't know if and how I can do it here. Check out my youtube if you want subs.

The template for this animation is the myth of the otter and the rabbit. Obviously I've replaced "Otter" with "Lizard." This is only because there seems to be a running gag with "lizard" having their fish stolen among native myth. The otter and the rabbit is the only instance where fish was stolen from someone other than lizard, so... I changed it to lizard.

So here it is Wrip and Calamity put aside their differences (grudgingly) for the sake of betterment... and when I say betterment I mean screwin' with ornery folk...No they won't drown... it's a shallow pool after it's mostly emptied....Can't have them dehydrating.^^0

Freesound.org Sound effects-

UncleSigmund (harmonica guy)
Jankoehl
davidou
justkiddink
Scottferguson1
and cms4f

Reviews


MaesterOlorinMaesterOlorin

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 24, 2013

excellent on nearly every possible aspect. I am a student/researcher of word, stories, myths and their development over the centuries. And if you are not from the south then you have done rare thing and actually gotten it right


People find this review helpful!

MCWood666MCWood666

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 24, 2013

I heard all of the lines just fine, silly guy below me turn up your volume!

But it was well done overall and decently entertaining!



KeiCrowKeiCrow

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 24, 2013

As I'm sure you've gathered, the well scene went over quite swimmingly. I was ready to write this off as another amateur animation held back by anime-worship, but that scene proved to me that you're making deliberate choices. It even caused me to go back and examine earlier scenes which corroborated my thoughts. You clearly have that important creator's eye/ear, so I recommend you

1) Tighten up the script

The innovative parts were the jokes, everything else was almost entirely bland exposition devoid of characterization

2) Level out the voices/Ask a bit more of your voice actor/actresses

I couldn't hear half of the lizard(Wrip?)'s lines because her voice was so soft and the rabbit(calamity?)'s voice got lost in the high levels.

3) Zoom-in/Dynamic camera

Dynamism was a strong part of this animation. When the camera and environment reacted to the water spell, it created a great moment. Conversely, it awkwardly breaks pacing when a character just stands there talking. I noticed you didn't use a lot of zooms/close-ups, which would fill a lot of gaps (i.e. when the rabbit-girl is first caught, when the mouse leader is riling his bros) and bring viewer attention to the subject of the scene.

I don't know how many of these points were a result of technological/time constraints, so please don't take it as a critique of your artistry as a whole, but just this particular work in this exact iteration.

I love the blending of immanence and exoticism. The chase and well scenes grabbed me entirely and the casual-fantasy thing is always a delightful setting. I really think this use of cinematic/anime camera and expressive stretch-n-squish cartooning is wonderful and what I hope to be a dominant future style. Good work.


People find this review helpful!

TerrissTerriss

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 23, 2013

I just can NOT stop watching this. Please make more; and please make calamity chant more. It's the eighth time I've watched it and it still gives me chills.



BloodyPixie666BloodyPixie666

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 23, 2013

nananananana~ lol. loved this so much <3 4.5 stars ^^ I kindly demand more.