Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 10, 2013 | 12:53 PM EDT
  • Review Crew Pick July 17, 2013
  • Daily 3rd Place July 11, 2013
  • Weekly 3rd Place July 17, 2013

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Obsolete tells the story of a robot starting work in a decrepit toy factory. Trapped in the factory all its life it is curious about the outside world, watching a bird through the factory wall each day. When it mistakes a toy on the production line for the bird one day it sets the robots escape in motion.

Reviews


Xy3aXy3a

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 11, 2013

I liked the whole story, and the animation is smooth, and the artwork is amazing, despite the 360p graphics setting. I only have one problem, in the end, the robot sacrificed his arm for his freedom, correct? There was a perfectly good robot arm sticking out of the junk pile, that was shone multiple times as I clearly witnessed...so why doesn't the robot repair himself and just take that arm and just use it as his? I'm sorry, this may seem like some tiny nit-picking, but it was so painfully obvious and it made the main character look so stupid. It kind of ruined the ending for me, as I kept on yelling "Just take the freaking arm!". Doh well, it is still a masterpiece, and I still enjoyed it, 4.5/5.


People find this review helpful!

CapnCocaineCapnCocaine

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 11, 2013

Powerful story. Minimalist graphics didn't get in the way of the story, but were done well, and the lighting, I felt, played a major part in that feeling of "being trapped."

I'd like to see a sequel, though this stands well on its own. Great job; you made Robot Day a bit more enjoyable.



mctoonlandmctoonland

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 1, 2013

Incredible animation. Very beautiful.


People find this review helpful!

lyucslyucs

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 29, 2013

Aww, I was just getting so captured by the story!
I thought the robot gave his arm for freedom, but it seems it was for the other trashed robot... I think.
And that's a really nice plot!



CheckeredZebraCheckeredZebra

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 11, 2013

That was a very nice touch at the end. It was paced nicely and the visuals were spot on. While the concept of robots seeking freedom is done to death, this one feels different and more satisfying, somehow.


People find this review helpful!