Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 10, 2013 | 12:53 PM EDT
  • Review Crew Pick July 17, 2013
  • Daily 3rd Place July 11, 2013
  • Weekly 3rd Place July 17, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Obsolete tells the story of a robot starting work in a decrepit toy factory. Trapped in the factory all its life it is curious about the outside world, watching a bird through the factory wall each day. When it mistakes a toy on the production line for the bird one day it sets the robots escape in motion.

Reviews


illuminashockilluminashock

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 25, 2013

I liked it.



WegraWegra

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 14, 2013

Guess the message here is don't throw away something nostalgic. I don't know that's just my take on the whole movie.

Either way gotta say the animation here is incredible. The atmosphere and character designs are something that can definetly be admired. Overall, another great addition to Robot Day 2013.



zuper21zuper21

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 14, 2014

The animation is great and the robot is interesting, liking life and freedom, I hope no one gets that punishment to be trapped at work forever oh wait its already happening in everyday life


People find this review helpful!

Xy3aXy3a

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 11, 2013

I liked the whole story, and the animation is smooth, and the artwork is amazing, despite the 360p graphics setting. I only have one problem, in the end, the robot sacrificed his arm for his freedom, correct? There was a perfectly good robot arm sticking out of the junk pile, that was shone multiple times as I clearly witnessed...so why doesn't the robot repair himself and just take that arm and just use it as his? I'm sorry, this may seem like some tiny nit-picking, but it was so painfully obvious and it made the main character look so stupid. It kind of ruined the ending for me, as I kept on yelling "Just take the freaking arm!". Doh well, it is still a masterpiece, and I still enjoyed it, 4.5/5.


People find this review helpful!

CapnCocaineCapnCocaine

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 11, 2013

Powerful story. Minimalist graphics didn't get in the way of the story, but were done well, and the lighting, I felt, played a major part in that feeling of "being trapped."

I'd like to see a sequel, though this stands well on its own. Great job; you made Robot Day a bit more enjoyable.