Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 15, 2013 | 12:58 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 22, 2013
  • Daily Feature May 16, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Note: ios AND android and most likely PC

written and directed by Joe Brumm
Sound/music: Dan Brumm

animation: Mark Paterson, Joe Brumm, Richard Jeffrey, Tim FehrenBach

Reviews


heylookitsbrianheylookitsbrian

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 3, 2013

I CANT WAIT I LOVE THE STORY LINE ALREADY!!! THIS LOOK AWSOME!



topzacktopzack

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 27, 2013

do you have to buy Stage 8


StudioJOHO responds:

stage 8 will be a game.


bluebubbleblastbluebubbleblast

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 8, 2013

awesome. thank you



DragonaxZDragonaxZ

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 5, 2013

This has been the most excellent of series I've seen on the internet. It would be quite insulting had I not reviewed it in its entirety.

I've known of Dan the Man since Stage 1 on YouTube. And to be honest, I had almost forgotten of it all those months ago. Then lo and behold, the series began popping it beautifully rendered and pixelated head onto Newgrounds. And it was a wonderful decision. Dan the Man has adapted perfectly to the community and fits neatly here. It meshes well with the site and its quirkiness and unique nature. It has made a home here.

Watching the series from the beginning has made me seen all the wonderful work input into it. The amazingly well-made pixel art-style. The well done sound effects.The intricate and feel good stories that are executed well and provide moral depth to a 2D story. The amazing action scenes that just fill me with hype and intense anxiety on what will happen. The beautifully used shift in style and videogame styles, Stage 3 especially. That scene with the drunks previous family history and abuse was breathtaking way to tell a story. You wouldn't expect such brightly colored characters would have such a sad story and justification in their actions. The amount of depth you provide in a 2D pixel story is a staggering surprise. The character morality and development. It's beautiful and just generally awesome.

Its been great to see how the series has evolved and the stories told. That build up to the final scene was jaw-dropping. To see a game to end the story, it's almost expected but still a suckerpunch to the face. I'm expecting only the best of it and a fitting ending to this jawesome series

My only complaint is that people who get the game itself will not see or understand the awesome background or context. It's a pity to end it off through a media that will garner people that didn't see the former context. Well that and having to pay for a previously free and public story/series. To have the ending so close but snatched by an empty pocket, almost a slap to the face. I'm not criticizing you for doing you and I understand your want/need to do this. Its hard to put monetary value to the ending of a story if you haven't read/seen the beginning or middle. I'm sure it will be amazing seeing that flippin' amazing trailer, which was such a tease, by the way. But, anyway, it's your decision and I cannot complain for the need of a wonderful group who has provided such an amazing series and story. I will definitely try to get a copy of the game, for PC of course. Not that big a fan of ios or android games. Kudos to the story you guys have made and I wish you success in the game and any future projects you plan to have!


People find this review helpful!
StudioJOHO responds:

Thanks for the well thought out reply, it's good to hear. The idea was not really to withold the final ep unless you buy the game but rather to have the game as an alternative (and primary) way to experience the climax. It will be turned into an episode, too much fun stuff in that one for me to miss that. The game will provide a way to finance the whole shebang.
That way people who don't want to buy it don't have to and can still watch ongoing eps. As for people who just play the game and don't watch the eps, that's cool too, but the whole point of this was to create a game where you actually care about what your doing from the get go. For the people like you who've been here from the start, id like to hear your feedback once the game is out as that's the full experience I wanted to create


na700037na700037

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 4, 2013

wow... awesome background for the game