Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 8, 2013 | 10:47 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 15, 2013
  • Review Crew Pick May 15, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

An animated action movie in vein of old console games. Inspired by and partially borrowed from games like Mortal Kombat, BattleToads, Double Dragon, Street Fighter, and Street of Rage. Chinese movies of 80s-90s starring Jackie Chan and other actors as well as the famous cartoon called xiao xiao.

Frontpage, Weekly Users' Choice, Review Crew Pick.
Wow. Just... wow.
This is really something and I would like thank Tom Fulp, first of all, for creating such place as Newgrounds. Newgrounds staff for noticing my animation and frontpaging it. And newgrounds community for your kind reviews and time to watch Ninja Action. I, honestly, read all of them, but unable to answer them all currently.
But here are answers for some frequently asked questions:
-Yes, it actually took me 9 years to make Ninja Action;
-Music, heard in Ninja Action, is from Yakuza Revenge and used with permission;
-Also, I will upload second part soon.

Reviews


Janus-KingJanus-King

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 13, 2013

Fantastic quality, a few bits, ( the ninja hug for instance) threw me off a little. But this is the next evolution of stick figure combat. The bar has been officially raised, new standards have been set. Apply this to the Madness genre and you wil have something legendary.


People find this review helpful!

JazLyteJazLyte

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 12, 2013

HO. LY. SHIT. You just took me back to my childhood, Xiao Xiao, Killer Kazuki, Madness, all that mindless action Flash I used to drown myself after school, everything good about them just wrapped up into one burrito, WITH frame by frame. I love it. Not even mad. There is an insane amount of effort here. One continuous 13-minute shot spanning a ridiculous amount of scenes blended seamlessly together. The scenes themselves and the 3D all came together great. The car junkyard was the craziest scene, all of this was just fucking nuts.

Of course I'm not a kid anymore though, I have my pretentious criticisms. One of the main ones is that it was super obvious when you "borrowed" animation from a video game or a movie, kinda took me out of it a little. Also, the proportions and character shape changed a lot when there was heavy fBf, and it would have been better for there to have been less framerate and more volume/gravity to the animation in some places. But other than that, I loved it. My god, how long did that take you? I'm hoping that (2003-2012) isn't 9 years you spent on this one project. I will cry.



CyberdevilCyberdevil

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 18, 2013

Woah, awesome start to the series. Nice to see the little greedy girl is a re-occuring character too, she's one of the more bizarre characters of the set. As with the sequel, there's plenty of comedy mixed in with the action, but I wonder, is there a plot to this or is it completely random? Maybe it'll be like the start of Madness, where it's completely random at first but overtime gains a cast of re-occuring characters, a legacy of its own. The fight with the cleaner guy makes me think of Jackie Chan, best part IMO, good to see all the characters that previously just passed by come back at the end, and that big guy... well that was unexpected, heh. Very realistic movements, and very fast-paced too, though it's a bit odd how he can know in advance even what's going on behind him, managing to dodge most attacks easily. The scenery is incredibly detailed too, and the transitions smooth. Keep up the great work!

-cd-


People find this review helpful!

JinxedAliveJinxedAlive

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 8, 2013

I enjoyed the small humoured cutscenes. Even recognised parody for "Die hard" in one of them.
Though, I must add that "brother" scene took a little bit too much time.

Other than that - it is bloody perfect submission for your first project.



LemanskywallkerLemanskywallker

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 27, 2014

I HATE THAT LITTLE KID... NEED 5 CENTS ONLY