Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 8, 2013 | 10:47 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 15, 2013
  • Review Crew Pick May 15, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

An animated action movie in vein of old console games. Inspired by and partially borrowed from games like Mortal Kombat, BattleToads, Double Dragon, Street Fighter, and Street of Rage. Chinese movies of 80s-90s starring Jackie Chan and other actors as well as the famous cartoon called xiao xiao.

Frontpage, Weekly Users' Choice, Review Crew Pick.
Wow. Just... wow.
This is really something and I would like thank Tom Fulp, first of all, for creating such place as Newgrounds. Newgrounds staff for noticing my animation and frontpaging it. And newgrounds community for your kind reviews and time to watch Ninja Action. I, honestly, read all of them, but unable to answer them all currently.
But here are answers for some frequently asked questions:
-Yes, it actually took me 9 years to make Ninja Action;
-Music, heard in Ninja Action, is from Yakuza Revenge and used with permission;
-Also, I will upload second part soon.

Reviews


JayJohnsonJayJohnson

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 12, 2013

This must have taken a long fuckin time to complete.



UrMonstaUrMonsta

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 12, 2013

Who said the Black Stickman can't fight? He does a damn good job in the real world!

Now to seriousness. This was a tribute to a lot of very classic games. It was well done and the sight jokes like the little girl asking for nickles... Damn she packs a big shotgun!

I found this to be a nice romp in the world of GRATUITOUS Bloodshed and violence.

more to come????



JohnnyZoomJohnnyZoom

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 12, 2013

The choreography was pretty damn good, but you're missing two CRUCIAL things in this animation.

1. A sense of weight: there's no sense that these actions take any amount of energy to pull off and this makes it so each little punch seems as powerful as every giant sledgehammer hit. It's not satisfying.

2. Proper speed: right now this animation is way too fast. Speed can be good and convey aciton, but there's no way to appreciate the choreography if it's TOO fast and we can't tell what's going on.


People find this review helpful!
dex00 responds:

About sense of weight. It is my first experience in animation and many of scenes were drawn way too much years ago. If I only could re-do the whole animation - those issues could be fixxes. One more interesting fact - some scenes were drawn blindfolded because of insuffient capacities of my PC. I was not able to play my own animation on it and used my common sense at it's best. Obviously, I fixed most crude mistakes later.
About proper speed. I won't fix it. If it will be any slower - it will be boring. Personally, I do not like pulling the cat's tail. In my opinion, it is better to watch animation twice, than watch it once but slowly.


TastySnickerTastySnicker

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 12, 2013

Dude, that was amazing.



kesterg6kesterg6

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 12, 2013

I think seeing as SO much fucking work has been put into this amazing piece of work, I need to write a proper review of it.
The animation was smooth as anything and harkens back, as the description rightly states, to those of older video games and awesome flash animations and movies from days of old. The fighting in this was second to none and didn't get boring throughout the whole animation. The graphics were awesome and the background detail and scenery was stunning, and I love the way that you incorporated the backgrounds and the environment into the actual fights and events that happened in this. 5 stars, couldn't have been better, ASTONISHING.