Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 5, 2013 | 12:59 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature April 6, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

EDIT: I did NOT expect this to get Daily Feature, or any award at all. I was just as surprised as you guys to see that I got 1st place. Thanks to everybody who voted for it!

.
This episode mostly just consists of holdovers from episode 42 that had to be cut out so episode 42 didn't get too long. Keep an eye out in the next few days for episode 44! And yeah, I am fully aware that the animation could be better - I just wanted to get some major plot points and dialogue scenes over with.
.
Adrellia Village:
Season 3, Episode 43:
The Lonely Road
-------------------------
Runtime: 3:53
-------------------------
4/5/13 - The entire village of Adrellia searches for King William. King William tries to get back to civilization, but gets lost; Drake continues to compete in the coliseum of the World of Destiny and feels guilty. He contemplates his decisions.

Reviews


CyberdevilCyberdevil

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 6, 2013

Well this was a mixture of random and entertaining. I really should start watching series from the first episode onward, but since this made it to the top five (and daily feature to top it off! congrats!) I'm just jumping straight into the action. Though the introductory scene seems to make as little sense as possible to a newcomer in the Adrellia Village world, the latter part of the animation follows a more logic chain of events. Characters are introduced before they appear, which is good for people who haven't seen previous episodes, and towards the end it seems like something big is about to get started. I'll keep an eye out for the next one.

The animation is nice and simple, voice acting good, and the surplus of sound effects and mostly ambient music really contribute to the atmosphere. It feels like most of them were heaped at the start of the animation though, and towards the end there's not much background static. Anyway, keep it going! Looking forward to the next one.

-cd-


People find this review helpful!
MistyEntertainment responds:

Thank you for your review! Actually you only need to see episode 42 to understand this - this episode is just a "bridge" episode between episodes 42 and 44. Thanks again for the great review!


DarkOasisDarkOasis

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 6, 2013

I knew there would kh refrences as soon as this movie started.


People find this review helpful!

PabstbrPabstbr

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 6, 2013

hahaha what a bunch of non sense hahaah what a great oen


People find this review helpful!

RECONmasterFILMSRECONmasterFILMS

Rated 2 / 5 stars April 6, 2013

A wall of text, but my time for your best interests.

I don't really know you so this might seem harsh, but what has to be said has to be said. The rating I gave you is so low because I expect more from you, and while this may be acceptable it is not your full potential. I am a bit of a story teller, a bit of a voice actor, and a bit of a director. I've had a little bit of experience in every role, and I can see the mistakes on multiple levels that are making this series with great potential, struggle to find coherence. This series has it pros, but I won't go over them. I believe the previous reviews have covered the pros well. However, I have to point out some major issues that should and need to be addressed.

My first and foremost issue with the series is the storyline. There are 43 episodes of this series and it appears to have made it a long way. I have watched the previous episode but for every episode I watch the story becomes more convoluted and unclear. Perhaps I should watch the other 41 episodes I haven't yet? Well the problem I'm picking on isn't the fact I can't tell what's happening in the overall world and series, but I can't tell what's happening within the episode. The story moves quickly from scene to scene and characters are making appearances rapidly on and off the spotlight of attention so fast that it can be rather hard for a person to keep track of who is who, what is what, and who is trying to do what.

Why? Well the story is relying heavily on telling and not showing. It's a rule of the narrative that you, "show don't tell." Your story is so heavy in dialogue and character actions are limited to either gags or the visualization that a character is walking somewhere. You story needs to slow down and show us what is happening. For instance when Rachel arrives at the Colosseum rather than showing the viewer that she arrives, you use the dialogue, "So this is the place, the Colosseum," or something to that effect. Action is worth a thousand words, and it truly shows who your characters are. The scene lacks any action (in the sense of characters reacting to their environment and adapting to continue to achieve their goals with something other than words, and not the Michael Bay stuff) So then we quickly jump to when she finds the person she is looking for in the Colosseum. This brings me to my next point. The story has a major lack of continuity within an episode. The perception of time is lost, and I can't tell if a day has passed if it a whole year has gone by. Usually shots, actions, and things of this nature follow a continuous action and only cut out some minor things like the extra 50 steps to get across the courtyard. However in this animation we follow multiple characters that are striving, or working towards different goals and in this the multiple shots that are used to depict this make me loose my sense of time. Normally a shot that follows another immediately has a "repeating action" and jump cuts usually depict small jumps in time that are cut out because they are extraneous actions, the extra 50 steps in the courtyard I previously mentioned. In the series it appears you have the need to cut out loads in story time to keep the stuff interesting. You should fight your story to fit all of the good content in, a story that is easy to write is usually a story that is worth telling. A good story comes naturally, if a story fights you every step of the way, then you need to stop and evaluate.

My next point in the review is the dialogue itself and the characters you are representing. In your story you rely heavily on your dialogue like I have previously said. A majority of your characters share the same voice actor that, while he may make some minor variations in the voice, sound rather the same. When this is added to the fact that the characters have relatively the same designs, with the exception of shirt designs, that are just about ignored when a character is talking. Their similar faces (the place that I at least tend to look at when a character talks) and similar voices, and similar characteristics make the characters really hard to tell apart. Now lets just add in the continuity issues that cause characters to jump from one part of the screen to another and we got a lot of confusion. Now I did notice you have taken some steps from the previous episode to correct this. I did notice that you added artistunknown's voices to some of the other characters and it made for some better variety and for some different characters. But your majority is still being voiced by one man, and I am not trying to be rude, but your primary voice actor lacks the emotional commitment to his character. So the characters end in a bland feeling when if they had some intonation we could give these similar characters some original defining characteristics.

SO I'll end my rather extended... rage with some proposed solutions. When it comes to writing a story writers have different methods. George R. R. Martin has said there are to two types of writers. The architect, who lays out the every room, every board, and every outlet before he drives a single nail. Then there is the gardener who digs a holes and plants a seed and waters it. He has some shape but a lot depends on the wind and the weather, and how much blood he gives to his plant... No one is purely one or the other, and I myself tend to flow from one side to the other. I tend to lay on the architect side. I plan the whole series before the first episode is done. Sure, I may write the basis of an episode, prior to the plan, but I always stop and figure out where I'm ending and the best way to get there. I like to plan how much time to dedicate to every issue, and this way I don't need to worry about cutting out massive amounts of story time. Ever since that started planning my story, it has made writing SO much easier and the stories SO much better. I am by no means perfect, but by planning out things before you lay your pen to the tablet can mean the difference between good, and gold. Voice actor wise, your current actors need emotion, and you need more variation in the voices. Perhaps try recruiting more voice actors. Why, for the sake of your series I would even voice act for you just to help out a fellow creator. Once your voice actors get a little more emotion, and more variety they can transform the characters. I don't know about you, but when I see a character evolve and live it puts a smile on my face.

In the end, you are the director. You make the decisions, you're the final say. While you may listen to other peoples opinions, and it is a directors job to take input and make sure that their crew/cast feel like they have their part and stake in the success of the video/animation/movie and are appreciated; YOU MistyEntertainment are the director, and this is your child. The final decision is yours.

I thank you for your time,
Alexander Jimenez


People find this review helpful!
MistyEntertainment responds:

Thank you very much for the excellent review, I really appreciate it! I agree with a lot of the points you made, and I will do my best to correct these mistakes in future episodes. During the production of this episode I did have some concerns that some of the writing was in violation of the "show, don't tell" rule and I'll make sure it won't happen in episode 45 (episode 44 is a music video). Thanks again for the great review!


artistunknownartistunknown

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 5, 2013

Alright, I'm not sure how long this review is going to be, since I can't think of a lot to say about this one, I guess it's a shorter review for a shorter episode, heh. I enjoyed helping with this episode. I think my writing and voicing of two lines helped the episode a bit.

Now then, the writing. There was a nice mix between comedy and drama. The opening scene was pretty well written, and would have been great if the characters were actually yelling, but we've been through this: the voice actor isn't exactly young, so it's probably not best for him to strain his voice. The scene was still handled well though, it was pretty enjoyable and nicely paced. There was nice direction throughout the rest of the episode as well. Though the silent scene with King William was short, I think it was a nice highlight of the episode. The dialog in th episode was also enjoyable. I feel like an asshole for saying this, because I wrote it, but I think the writing in the last scene is the best. Drake has a little monolog, and the scene has a lot of emotion. The music also helps with this scene, and Drake's voice actor actually did a good job in this scene, and I think it really helped it. This episode is very short though, and unfortunately it suffered from everything that was cut. Overall, I did enjoy the writing in the episode, everything was well written, and there was a nice balance of comedy and drama.

Oh the animation, where to start... For the most part, the animation was pretty much the same as the last episode, which is a shame. It was a mixture of tweens and frame by frame, though a lot less frame by frame was used in this episode. Nice coloring though, very appealing to the eyes. One thing I think you need to work on is scene transitions. For the most part, they were okay, but the transition at the end of the first scene really bugged me. You used a fade after Angus said "My bacon". A fade doesn't really seem appropriate there, since the camera is just fixed on his face, and that line isn't really the best to end a scene on. A hard cut would have been better there, since with a fade, the camera is fixed on his motionless face longer and it just looks wrong. With a hard cut to the next scene (or a brief clip of black like I do) it doesn't linger and flows more nicely. I think fades should be left to more ominous or foreshadowing bits of dialog or imagery. Like at the end of the last scene, perfect use of a fade. The line "I hope King William and the others are okay" is a foreshadowing line, and the fade really helped that. Scene transitions do add to the tone of the scene. Aside from that, I did enjoy the direction of the episode for the most part, though some parts could have been handled better. There were too many moments of characters going to do something and cutting to them having done it. An example would be Rachel going to use the portal and then being in the world of destiny, but you didn't show her using the portal. While in some cases this could drag out a scene, it does help lessen confusion, and when the episode is as short as this, I think it would have helped.

The voice acting was about the same as before, except there's a few additional voices this time around. Gee, wonder who that was :3. The voice acting in the beginning was a bit unenthusiastic, but we've already discussed the yelling. After the part where they should have been yelling, it does get better. For the rest of the episode, the voice acting is about the same as usual. Drake's voice actor is improving and doing a fine job, he handled the hotel scene very well. Rachel's voice actress is a bit meh. Why is it that Drake's voice actor has improved, bur Rachel's hasn't? Maybe it's because you don't have her record lines as much? Either way, it still works, and she did try, so that's good. Some of the pronunciation was a bit awkward, but what are you gonna do? I can't really say anything about the voice of the bear or the reporter since I voiced them, but yeah. I'll just let other people talk about that, heh. That's really all I have to say about the voice acting.

Overall, I did enjoy this episode. I think it's either a step backward or a standstill in the quality of the animation. The writing was an improvement over the last episode, and the voice acting and music really added to the feel of everything. My major problem is how short this episode is. I really think it should have been longer, because this just feels like nothing happened, and just serves as filler. It was still a good episode though, just some things that need to be touched up on. I hope this was helpful, and good luck on future episodes.


People find this review helpful!
MistyEntertainment responds:

Thank you very much for your helpful review! Yeah, I'd definitely have to agree that the writing in the last scene was the best, it was very heartfelt and well-written, and the background music definitely contributed to it too. I appreciate your comments on the direction, and I will try to improve the scene transitions in the future episodes. Thanks again!