Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 2, 2013 | 10:39 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 3, 2013
  • Review Crew Pick April 3, 2013
  • Daily Feature April 3, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The main characters are Vito and Wilhelm which names mean full of life and strong-willed warrior.

We are developing The Reward into a series (along with a comic and DnD campaign book) you can see the now finished campaign at:

http://kck.st/ZsMKBW

The Reward was made at The Animation Workhop. It is directed by Mikkel Mainz and Kenneth Ladekjer, Bros for life. See end credits for the team :) We now made Sun Creature Studio, a company made to bring you more series and films like this (Together with Bo Juhl). For more about The Reward:

Suncreaturestudio.tumblr.com

youtube.com/suncreaturestudio

Therewardfilm.blogspot.com

Also find us on Twitter and Facebook :)

For The Reward T-shirts:
http://www.welovefine.com/featured/76-the-reward-animation-workshop-youtube-animation-sunstudios#.UcK6iT55yyL

Reviews


v3rt1gov3rt1go

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 8, 2013

What a masterpiece!! This is an amazing animation. The storyline is enthralling and beautiful, with its ups and downs and brilliant ending. The world is stunning and mysterious, and is animated perfectly.
A very well done and a plead to bring out more :)

All my stars are belong to you (:


People find this review helpful!

ShadowdamonShadowdamon

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 8, 2013

Thank you for making this animation. It has made my whole week. You show us that not much is needed to make something so epic and inspiring. I tip my hat sir. Truly epic.



XenvasXenvas

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 8, 2013

Alright, let me make an actual review instead of just talking about how much I loved this animation.
Animation: 9.5/10
The animation was quite well-done and fluent, though it appeared to be a bit choppy in the beginning, but it would appear that is kind of the style of the animation, at least at that point. There are also many cuts through actions, but that is also very welcome, considering the fact that we did not need the full 5 minutes of a guy walking in circles. It had an artstyle that I would consider unique, and it fit the setting very well. I would have liked some more details every now and then, but hey, you can't draw like Michelangelo when you are making a 9-minute epic story. Otherwise, this aspect is nigh perfect.
Sound: 10/10
This is both for the music and the voices. The music, though in the backdrop most of the time, is very fitting in every scenario it is played, especially when the adventure gets serious. It adds depth and atmosphere, so I would have to say it is just spot on and appropriate. I really appreciate the narrative where someone can tell a story, the many things going on within a character and between them, without uttering a single word. Of course, there are the minimalistic grunts and hi's, but when they are not adding to alleviate the tension, they can also deepen the story, like when Vito patched Wilhelm back up, the hi aroused sympathy.
More of my thoughts: Well, I can say that I simply loved this animation, it is one of the rare and few examples of creative genius in our modern society, where people try to deviate as much from the norm as they possibly can, or try to be different. I can say that even though this animation is very similar to many others, its execution is that which truly makes it shine out among others. What really bothers me, though, is the ending - and I do not mean that as a bad thing by any means. I just dislike loose ends because it leaves it up to your own interpretation, and in the process you overanalyse. Did our heroes actually find the treasure, but they decided they didn't need it, or did they think of all the personal growth and friendship as the reward of their journey upon seeing themselves in the mirror-like wall? Of course, there could be other interpretations, but damn it, this is just so nerve-wrecking to think about, especially when you really enjoy something.
Then again, I guess that is also part of the charm and only makes the entire work of art even more beautiful.

Keep up the good work.


People find this review helpful!

GanDuumarGanDuumar

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 8, 2013

This is one of the best animations I have seen.
Basically, You expressed the whole meaning, without using any words. A wonderful animation!



LeekboyLeekboy

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 8, 2013

Pretty much awesome everything. Didnt get much of a feel for the world if this is supposed to be developed into something but it didnt matter because this was about the characters (who were awesome). One thing that bothers me...how did the red headed wizard wink when his eyes are always closed? I am freaking out man!