Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 10, 2013 | 8:30 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice March 13, 2013
  • Review Crew Pick March 13, 2013
  • Daily Feature March 11, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

300 Damage 5 Points Deal 300 damage with a single hit.
3K Damage 5 Points Deal 3,000 damage with a single hit
Art Appreciator 5 Points Check out some of the art galleries.
Burn Baby Burn 5 Points Set a foe on fire, and watch them burn.
Chicken Molester 5 Points Seriously stress out a chicken. Just don't stab it.
First Blood 5 Points Defeat your first foe, and become a hardened killer.
First Casualty 5 Points Watch a player die, as you do nothing to help.
Kamikaze 5 Points Kill yourself with a spell or summon.
Keys Unlock Stuff 5 Points Use a key to access new treasures, but you should have figured that out on your own.
Lava Burns 5 Points Walk on lava and get hurt, because that's not smart.
Limits Were Broken 5 Points Use an awesome limit break for the first time.
Lunchtime 5 Points Take a break and have something to eat outside of battle.
Marathon Runner 5 Points Take 10,000 steps. Fun.
Mega Resistance 5 Points Absorb some elemental damage.
Millionaire 5 Points Save up 1,000,000 chocolate coins.
New Skill Found 5 Points Find a new special skill. You can find them in chests or get them from quests.
New Skill Learnt 5 Points Learn the first of many new skills.
Overkill 5 Points Completely obliterate a feeble enemy. The cute ones deserve it.
Overpriced Snacks 5 Points Destroy the economy by buying rare food.
Panty Thief 5 Points Steal some underwear. Perverts pay good money for stuff like this.
Permanent Stat Boost 5 Points Eat a stat-boosting snack and boost your stats permanently. Protip: Don't give them all to one character.
Pervert 5 Points Please don't leave 100,000 comments about this again. Seriously, you freaks.
Power On 5 Points Power up a set of factory doors, and open the next area.
Slime Cat 5 Points Find a Slime Cat and discover the Warp Zone.
Slimy Situation 5 Points Get turned into a slime. Some people have a fetish for that sort of thing.
Start the Game Already 5 Points Smash 100 Idols on the loading screen, because clicking randomly makes the game load faster.
Step Over the Dead 5 Points Clear away a player's rotting corpse.
Taste Pain 5 Points Drink a whole bottle of Chilli Sauce, and eat the actual bottle too.
Unknown Power Level 5 Points Find an unscannable secret foe.
Used Cut 5 Points Cut down a dangerous path-blocking bush. Don't worry, they don't have feelings.
Used Flash 5 Points Light a torch with your candle. Fire magic doesn't work for some reason.
Used Rock Smash 5 Points Smash a nice boulder. You could even find some diamond inside.
Used Strength 5 Points Push an unwanted block out of the way. It will not be missed.
Used... Ladder? 5 Points Bridge a gap, with the power of ladders.
Water Conducts 5 Points Shock a wet foe with a thunder attack (or ice, if you prefer).
Winter is Coming 5 Points Freeze a foe, and then hit them again for massive damage.
300K Damage 10 Points Deal 300,000 damage with a single hit.
30K Damage 10 Points Deal 30,000 damage with a single hit.
Best Customer 10 Points Completely buy-out an equipment shop.
Death Penalty 10 Points Kill a foe with an instant-death attack.
Extinction Event 10 Points Defeat 1,000 foes in total, and become a serious threat to the ecosystem.
Extra Lives 10 Points Survive death: Be killed, but do not die.
Invaders from Space 10 Points Summon the most powerful creature to obliterate your enemies.
Level 10 10 Points Reach level 10. That's a good start, but there's still a long way to go.
Level 20 10 Points Reach level 20. Getting well into the game now.
Level 30 10 Points Reach level 30. Should be strong enough to take on the final boss. Almost.
Level 40 10 Points Reach level 40. Well, if you don't have anything better to do, you might as well go even further.
Monster Hunter 10 Points Defeat 100 foes in total, and develop a taste for their flesh.
NPC Helper 10 Points Complete 10 quests for NPCs. They can't do anything by themselves.
NPC Servant 10 Points Complete 20 quests for NPCs. Saving the world can wait.
NPC Slave 10 Points Complete 30 quests for NPCs. They own you now.
Power of Courage 10 Points Survive a powerful attack with 1HP.
Zoology Student 10 Points Scan a foe and begin filling in the bestiary.
Ancient Civilization 25 Points Enter the Temple of Godcat for the first time.
Blacksmith 25 Points Fully upgrade any item of equipment.
Deforestation Problem 25 Points Enter Ashwood Forest for the first time.
Digging Too Deep 25 Points Enter the Crystal Caverns for the first time.
Electrical Engineer 25 Points Defeat Praetorian on Epic difficulty.
Extreme Gardener 25 Points Defeat Rafflesia on Epic difficulty.
I See Dead People 25 Points Enter Graybone Graveyard for the first time.
Keen Eye 25 Points Discover 30 secrets. There's actually way more than that though.
Leet Hacker 25 Points Defeat the glitch on any difficulty.
Lost Ruins 25 Points Find the hidden ruins in the jungle.
Lumberjack 25 Points Defeat Mighty Oak on Epic difficulty.
Plants Eat You 25 Points Enter Lankyroot Jungle for the first time.
Realm of Robots 25 Points Enter the Waste Disposal Plant for the first time.
Rock Miner 25 Points Defeat Crystal Golem on Epic difficulty.
Slime Cat King 25 Points Find all the Slime Cats, and rule the world map.
The Gang's All Here 25 Points Find all of your missing party members.
3M Damage 50 Points Deal 3,000,000 damage with a single hit. That's a lot!
Beastmaster 50 Points Unlock all summon creatures.
Equipment Collector 50 Points Collect 145 pieces of equipment.
Treasure Hunter 50 Points Collect 280 treasure chests. There's more, but getting all of them could be frustrating.
Zoology Expert 50 Points Scan all foes and complete the bestiary.
Cat Person 100 Points Defeat Godcat on Epic difficulty.
The World is Saved 100 Points Beat the game and save the world.

Author Comments

EBF4 is out on Steam now, with lots of extra content:
http://store.steampowered.com/app/265610/

---

Go on a huge turn-based RPG adventure, and save the world again!

Battle over 120 types of monsters, collect over 140 types of equipment and use over 130 different skills and spells!

The long awaited sequel to Epic Battle Fantasy 3!

---

Everything is controlled with the mouse, but you can also move around with the keyboard.

You can change the controls, quality, sounds and other stuff in the options menu.

Reviews


naiomenaiome

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 6, 2013

i love the game its just that my top top wont load all the way or some thing so im trying to figure out whats wrong


People find this review helpful!

ElixurElixur

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 6, 2013

~Best flash rpg ever made~

Right! Epic Battle Fantasy 4, it definitely delivers on it's namesake. Where to start with this gigantic project? I can't even imagine the amount of work you must have put into this game mate and it really shows. I just recently finished the game on normal mode (took me roughly 9-10 hours) and I do intend to play it through on epic mode in a few weeks when I get time. So, let's break down a couple of key points of interest.

~Graphics
Your signature style returns in full form, The game looks wonderful it really does, The animations are fantastic, the colors are very vibrant and the graphics definitely help the atmosphere of this light-hearted rpg. What else is there to say? It's gorgeous, one of if not THE best looking flash rpg I've ever played. 10/10

~Sound
HalcyonicFalconX has graced us with more delicious melodies and I'm very thankful for that. The music fits the mood of each individual area nicely. The sound effects during battle were also great, everything matched what I think it would sound like in my head. Gorgeous ost, I know you've sold the OST to your games separately in the past and I have to wonder if you will this time around as well? If so I'm very much thinking of picking it up. Whimsical and catchy the music is just absolutely magical. 10/10

~Story
Now I'll be honest, I don't play your games for story and I will shamelessly admit I skipped past a good chunk of dialogue, but of what I read some of it was very humorous and gave the characters some real flavor. The story is very silly with a Godcat civilization and whatnot, but it fits the tone of the game and a serious plot doesn't match your style anyway. All in all I don't feel like i'm entitled to review the story since it's not really a key aspect of what you were trying to achieve, to me it was just there and it did it's job just fine. The dialogue amongst the npcs were nicely done. NA/10

~Gameplay
Here we go, the meat of the review and the reason why I play your games (well mostly). You have a very unique thing going here and a very well established series and I love that you bring back the same characters (sometimes adding new ones) and use similar enemies, etc you constantly build and improve your series and that's wonderful. The actual gameplay is standard rpg fair. Explore, fight enemies (no random enemies which i love) level up, upgrade your gear and learn skills, then test your knowledge and strategy on the bosses. Now again I played this on normal ( i will play it on epic eventually) so I'm speaking from that difficulty when I say the regular encounters were kinda copy paste. What I mean by that is I would use the same strategy over and over in an area (skills that hit all enemies are overpowered early to mid game imo). Obviously that's not your fault, I could play however I like, which is typically an optimal playstyle. The bosses were very nicely done, challenging without being overly so (on normal). The summons were a little inbalanced ( i honestly only used the scanbot, regen slime and the robot boss one) but I like that there were plenty of options. I love the skill choices, although some skills are blatantly better than others. All in all I love the equipment selection and how some pieces offer unique abilities (I find that the equips that offer random events to trigger in battle are best) and i found a particular use for the casual shirt/coat for matt (double hp/mp item effectiveness is insane with the fries man). The menu interface in battle and on the map does it's job excellently. Backtracking to previous areas once you've unlocked certain tools was a good way to give players additional secrets, loot and gear, nicely done. I enjoyed each of the different locales you included in the game (forest area, cave area, snowy area, factory, beach, desert and so on) I hope you continue to offer many different environments in future games. Finally, the end boss, you made me use all my tricks to best him- very very well done sir. (I spammed def/hp buffs/regen/limits)

~In Conclusion
Not many flash games get me to sit down and play them for 10 hours+ like yours do. You're obviously fantastic at your craft and I hope you keep designing for the epic battle fantasy series, I'm most certainly looking forward to the next adventure. As for criticisms, most of mine are concerning balancing. I'd love it if the skills were balanced better, as well as the pacing (some of the fights in the end game take a long time with 4+ waves). All in all keep doing what you're doing, and keep making bigger and better games as you have been doing. I could honestly see this on psn steam or xbla for 9.99 and I'd honestly pay that for it. I hope you continue to treat newgrounds as your home, I'm just saying.

~What I'd like to see in the next game
-Skills better balanced
-Even more unique locales to visit
-I hope HalcyonicFalconX provides the music again, it's lovely
-Sluggish battle pacing improved (not sure how to elaborate on this, the fights in the end game take a long time, with 4+ difficult waves. I'm not saying make it easier, I prefer a challenge, it just seemed to drag on as I copy pasted the same op skills)
-I'd like to see more towns ( i think there were 3 in this game?) maybe make some more cameos (like the creeper etc)
-I'm kinda torn on the upgrade system. I like that you find unique ingredients to upgrade your weapons and armor, but I can't help but wonder if I would prefer if you earned something like crafting points in battle to upgrade your stuff instead.
-An end game dungeon, very difficult, kinda like an extra challenge with an optional superboss. Ultimate gear, etc inside

Looking forward to playing the game again on epic difficulty! (I need to finished EBF3 still) >_>
Cheers for the amazing game matt.

~Andrew


Lots of people find this review helpful!

LordSlimeLordSlime

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 5, 2013

cazzo le fan art mi eccitano sesualmente!



AokiLapisAokiLapis

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 5, 2013

I LOVE THIS GAME EVER~!!



Starshoot789Starshoot789

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 5, 2013

I was hoping that in this game we can start over with all of the characters and keep the level but it gets harder, like that one time of the beta testing I liked it that way before.


People find this review helpful!