Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 8, 2013 | 1:36 PM EST
  • Daily 4th Place March 10, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Starship Commander is a , 4x RTS game similar to MOO (Master of Orion), in which your task is to conquer the galaxy. Do this by growing your planets, producing fleets, and destroying the enemy. Building planetary facilities, research technologies, and assemble fleets to protect, and attack.

WARNING!!! i update this alot, so please make sure you are playing the newest version, as not to report old bugs that have already been addressed. You can see the version right on the home intro screen.

6/14/2013
Current version is: 1.5
please report any bugs, ill fix em :)

Reviews


fzerolupefzerolupe

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 10, 2013

pretty solid game. few things though. the music and sound stopped after the first battle and i could not find a way to get it going again. also when i produced ships on any planet besides my starting planet (on the lightyears level) they simply would not show up and my fleet page did not show them either. am i missing something or is this a bug? besides that i enjoyed it keep up the good work


People find this review helpful!
momoguru responds:

regarding ship production, i tried replicating your issue and could not reproduce it.
just so i understand, you would build a ship, watch the progress bar go all the way up, and there were no ships in your stardock? even with autolaunch on?

edit: i think i may have something. if an event knocks out your starship research, or any other required tech to produce the ships, they will not be able to produce since you no longer have the required tech. i will fix this so that if you lose the required tech to produce a ship due to an event, the ships will pause production.


2465318724653187

Rated 3 / 5 stars March 10, 2013

Well, this game looks good but too unfair. I've played Lightyears for several times, and in every time I can't even stop the first wave of the enemy. They just pwn me. I guess a 1-star level shouldn't be like that.


momoguru responds:

you are the first to complain about easy being to hard. i think once you understand the game mechanics, you will find easy much , uh... easier :)


RyxysRyxys

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 10, 2013

Great game except the tutorial reset on me like 4 times in a row for no reason i can find.


People find this review helpful!
momoguru responds:

should be fixed now, you can test by making a new account, completing the tutorial, then quiting the game and reloading the new account. thanx so much for the heads up.


AlgorathAlgorath

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 10, 2013

It's not MoO, but that's a harsh standard to begin with.

I'm curious as to why you've chosen to leave Research separate for each planet instead of using global variables; would save memory and runtime, I think.

Beyond those, solid game, solid core; just needs the fancy. :D


momoguru responds:

some research is univeral, weapons, plasma, armor, sheilds. the others are planet specific. don't think of it as just the actual tech, but the hardware that is require to use it as well. i should probably put that in the game somewhere huh :)


baronlupusbaronlupus

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 9, 2013

The graphics are great and the gameplay is fun. The problem is that there is a glitch with fleet production and being able to attack enemies. It doesn't happen all the time but I have had over 50 fighters just disappear. By far the most annoying is the combat engine. I had my weapons 11 to 1 and my defense 9.3 to 2 and they still beat me because they had 130 probes to and 100 fighters verse my 100 higher uprgraded fighters! That needs to be fixed! Why would you make it this far and not have the combat down? I still give it 4 stars. Needs some tweeks though.


momoguru responds:

i will definitely address these issues, ive been updating the game almost twice a day. for now, check out the combat section in instructions, it will give you some insight to how it is currently working. and i appreciate u not bashing the rating :)