Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 6, 2013 | 1:07 AM EST
  • Daily Feature March 7, 2013
  • Weekly 2nd Place March 13, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

SO not a real episode but a sort of "minisode" to bridge the gap between episode 1 and 2. I started episode 2 in August last year and it's already two thirds made (it's much longer than Episode 1) but it will be a while yet until I git 'er dun!

Reviews


FoxnEagleFoxnEagle

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 15, 2013

Starbarians, wanted on 120 systems for Coercion, extortion, extinctious distortions, desertions, perversions, illegal insertions, evasions of nations, space tax evasion, commotions, explosions,


People find this review helpful!

SupaserrinSupaserrin

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 15, 2013

Can someone tell me all the crimes from the Starbarians?
Its impossible to hear them all xD



belthagorbelthagor

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 15, 2013

amazingly funny, this is the first episode I have seen, looking forward to more



vai90vai90

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 15, 2013

Excellent in both animation quality and humor.



GungaDGungaD

Rated 2 / 5 stars March 14, 2013

not easy to write a negative review for something that has taken a lot of effort. Well, actually it is, just not fun to say why I like your The animation was great. probably the best to be found on Newgrounds. Same with the voice acting. But the I know a lot of cartoon characters are one-trick ponies, but ever since you did the preview clip, it seems like you really figure out what to do with them. The first time around, it was a good enough joke: oversexed violent mercenaries who, in doing right, do wrong. And then do more wrong. Characters like that should either be a one-off, or you have to give them more time to let their misadventures play out. Like a plot. With humor that pushes boundaries and buttons. And what work about this flash one bit. a recycled joke that feels like it came from a 1990s Space Ghost Coast to Coast program. The creativity and whimsy of your work circa 2009-2010 is flat-out missing. Something good can be done with these characters. What is needed is a good writer who can flesh out the humor and the situation. This flash seems DOA, like something that was done to pass the time moreso than develop Starbarians as a viable concept.


HappyHarry responds:

I read this through and generally agree with your sentiment but in defense of the cartoon, I'd like to remind you that credits aside, this thing is barely 1 minute long. I don't think that's adequate time to set up sympathetic characters, have jokes, a story and have a satisfying resolution.

I started Episode 2 in August and it has a far better grasp of who the characters are and gives the audience a reason to care while still taking clever turns. Unfortunately it's nearly 10 minutes long and won't be finished for a while yet so I hope that people like yourself will come back and give it a chance. Then from there, I hope Episode 3 will be be better still and so on.

Maybe you've passed final judgement on this series already but I understand its shortcomings better than it may appear, and things will improve.