Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 20, 2013 | 10:36 PM EST
  • Daily 3rd Place February 22, 2013
  • Weekly 3rd Place February 27, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

CHILDREN, created by Mohammad Ahmed Fikree. The film won Special Jury Prize at Dubai International Film Festival 2011.
---
The drama of a mother and her children planning a desperate escape from a scary, hungry beast that preys on them is captured in this short animation film.
---
Follow me on Twitter & Instagram: @mohdfikree
mohdfikree.com // facebook.com/mohdfikreech ildren

Reviews


xIIInonxIIInon

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 21, 2013

I am simply astonished.... The soundtrack is top notch, it's scares the willies out of you while the stylish graphics turn every frame into a piece of art. I won't lie if I say that a horror movie never impressed me as much as this movie did. It just absorbed me. The only thing that I found distracting were the titles. I understand that they purposely split the movie into separate parts of different mood and atmosphere but to me they seemed to last forever. However, these episodes in between the titles... I do get the feeling that it should have been hell of a lot of work and the result is. absolutely. terrific. Thank you for sharing this. You did just great!


People find this review helpful!

KaderKader

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 21, 2013

Beautiful visual story telling, Mohd. Thank you, so much, for sharing.



PokeaidanPokeaidan

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 16, 2013

Very touching, and also very emotional. It makes me feel sorry for the characters who had died, and even more sad for the mother, who now has to live on without her kids. ;( Very good Movie!



ReaplayReaplay

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 23, 2013

Holy C**P. That was good. The beginning, odd, but it established the threat. And then the escape, it established the relentlessness. I never thought silhouettes could be so grisly. The entire first act shows you a family. The mother by the lakeside makes me think she's grieving. This is an outing to take the children's minds off the death of their father. (Personally, it makes the story more tragic in my mind.) The monster is first shown sparingly, building the tension. The sound made me shrink my attention to only that screen. Then the monster comes after them. And I know you're going to go full circle. After the cave, I thought "the monster's dead but they're not out of danger" and I felt like the journey home would be just as hard as escaping. But then it FREAKING CAME BACK! and I was like WHAT THE HELL? but they're okay. and then it fell. Even before I was thinking, the boy's going to be a sacrifice isn't he? And then they were okay. and I thought the movie was almost over. But it wasn't. IT JUST KEPT COMING! When it used the boy's image, that was the point I wanted that thing to die. When it stole the girl, I wanted the mother to attack it. To beat it down into hell, and save the girl, or at least just be with her as she died. I could see the anger in the fear. IN A FREAKING SILHOUETTE! (Although that might be me, then again that's what silhouettes are good for, having the audience project their ideas onto the actions.) And I saw the helplessness. And I honestly thought the mother would die. But take the monster with it. But she lived. She lived to see her children die. (And if this is a spoiler, you read through this entire thing and didn't realize that?) AMAZING. JUST ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! I APPLAUD YOU! I CAN'T (read: don't want to) say anything BAD about this. Because it caused me actual emotions of fear, relief and, pity. Wonderful. Five stars.

TL;DR (I enjoyed this production immensely.)


People find this review helpful!

TopGoldenEyeTopGoldenEye

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 24, 2013

this was absolutely amazing