Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 20, 2013 | 10:36 PM EST
  • Daily 3rd Place February 22, 2013
  • Weekly 3rd Place February 27, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

CHILDREN, created by Mohammad Ahmed Fikree. The film won Special Jury Prize at Dubai International Film Festival 2011.
---
The drama of a mother and her children planning a desperate escape from a scary, hungry beast that preys on them is captured in this short animation film.
---
Follow me on Twitter & Instagram: @mohdfikree
mohdfikree.com // facebook.com/mohdfikreech ildren

Reviews


ArmoredUltraArmoredUltra

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 3, 2013

how is this sad?
its frickin creepy



reinreinreinrein

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 31, 2013

this is sad :( but amazing in the same time and my condolences to that giant goat like beast who saved the daughter.



slenderman12244slenderman12244

Rated 1 / 5 stars May 25, 2013

sad



ILOVECHICKEN356ILOVECHICKEN356

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 22, 2013

So Sad Daughter Died =( I Just Dont Like Do Die =(



Scrapper92Scrapper92

Rated 2 / 5 stars May 18, 2013

Though I really applaud it for its bravery and style, it does have its fair share of issues.

I know plot holes shouldn't really be a part of a review, but some are really big and really distracting. #1: If it's a beast of legend, what is the family doing out there when they've most likely heard of it? If it's thought to have only been part of a story, then disregard this complaint. #2: Why is the family out that far just to fly a kite? They go through a lot of stuff to get away from the monster, it almost makes me think that they went through that stuff to get there in the first place. It's really kind of silly. #3: Why didn't the fall that killed the son kill the monster as well? We obviously saw that the monster is mortal because a couple of rocks falling on it did kill it. So why not a giant fall? #4: The monster seems pretty powerful and fast to begin with. Why does it need to trick people and ambush them? It seems like a cheap element to wrench some heart strings when it was projecting the son.

Now, onto my biggest problem. The mother. She doesn't illustrate the slightest bit of bravery in this situation, nor does she show any sort of initiative dedicated to saving her children. The son and the ox were the only two people who did anything and they were the first to go. It just feels so disjointed and wrong. The mother literally does NOTHING in this entire video.

And I wasn't a big fan of the ending. While it was brave, it doesn't shed much insight on the mother's love for her children. They die, she cries, that's it. What's the point? What was your goal when making this story?

All in all, it gets a lot of things right. But some of the things it got wrong were so bad that they actually kind of offended me.


People find this review helpful!