Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 20, 2013 | 10:36 PM EST
  • Daily 3rd Place February 22, 2013
  • Weekly 3rd Place February 27, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

CHILDREN, created by Mohammad Ahmed Fikree. The film won Special Jury Prize at Dubai International Film Festival 2011.
---
The drama of a mother and her children planning a desperate escape from a scary, hungry beast that preys on them is captured in this short animation film.
---
Follow me on Twitter & Instagram: @mohdfikree
mohdfikree.com // facebook.com/mohdfikreech ildren

Reviews


Vocaloid01Vocaloid01

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 22, 2013

I am so sad right now. The kids man, The kids! Why did it have to end that way. T-T


People find this review helpful!

Guitar-Dude-yeahGuitar-Dude-yeah

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 22, 2013

While it was nice visually, and riveting when the scary music kicks in, there was no emotional factor.
I felt sadder when the Yak died as opposed to the other characters.
Perhaps create a connection by showing character development and the interactions between characters. The sister has difficulty building a kite, and the brother helps. The mother is sad about not being able to feed her family and the brother disappears to come back with food he slaved to catch.
Also, the way they overcame the monster had no impact at all. It was a very convenient end. For the triumphant ending, wits and planning could be used. For the heart-drop impact, use sacrifice as a way to overcome the monster just like the Yak (the Yak was the most emotional loss for me), maybe the mother could toss herself over a cliff with the monster to kill it, or the brother has to choose between saving his mother or sister.
Very pretty, but needs more feeling for a film as ethereal as this.


People find this review helpful!

RetrosamuraiRetrosamurai

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 22, 2013

Light and shadow combined with the music score makes this a mini masterpiece.


People find this review helpful!

gabraelgabrael

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 22, 2013

The sound effects were amazing, and it's clear you knew the feeling you wanted to convey with each part.

However, like most people said, the monster looked a bit silly. He was still kinda intimidating in my eye, but I really think its appearance could have been improved.

Aside from that, maybe it's just me seeing too much into this, but the woman seemed to me like a really bad mother: letting her daughter wander off, not being alarmed by the buffalo running away all of a sudden, just looking down at her son and crying (or something) as the monster is coming to get him, letting herself be fooled by a *completely white* duplicata of her son, etc.

Anyways, the style was good, although it could be improved upon, the idea was great, and the sound effects were amazing. The animation needed a little more work, and the monster could have been more threatening.

All in all, a good flash.



YetyMasterYetyMaster

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 22, 2013

Oh my god... This is so beautiful... i was actually crying while i watched.
if you make more, make them exactly like this.

P.s. great blurring effects, really gave me a consistent point of view.


People find this review helpful!