Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 20, 2013 | 10:36 PM EST
  • Daily 3rd Place February 22, 2013
  • Weekly 3rd Place February 27, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

CHILDREN, created by Mohammad Ahmed Fikree. The film won Special Jury Prize at Dubai International Film Festival 2011.
---
The drama of a mother and her children planning a desperate escape from a scary, hungry beast that preys on them is captured in this short animation film.
---
Follow me on Twitter & Instagram: @mohdfikree
mohdfikree.com // facebook.com/mohdfikreech ildren

Reviews


ylpeornylpeorn

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 24, 2013

I like some parts of the presentation, though I feel that many other parts are lacking.

The idea of the unknown monster in the forest chasing a bunch of people - not very unique... but you manage to pull it off in a unique way using just silhouettes of the people and monster itself. A luminescent beast that chases you at night. Imagine that, running away from the light. That's scary.
The music fits extremely well with creating the atmosphere as well...

Yet, some parts of the story are rough, some unrealistic, some times the feelings are vague. (that's the risk of using silhouettes anyways). I feel that with better animation skills the story could have been conveyed better, everything looks like a tween in this. It breaks the fourth wall a little for me when I think "this is a really bad tween".

The monster killing itself by accidentally touching rocks while the woman miraculously escapes? Yeah, right. Who could've known that as intelligent as this monster was in setting up traps, it would meet its death from falling rocks. That's just ridiculous, abrupt, and silly. It's too convenient of a plot device for the monster to die and the woman to live. Apparently the monster survived what looked like a pretty steep fall, but a few rocks and its dead? Wouldn't it have died the first time the family dropped a rock on it then?

Anyways, the story overall is well presented and immersive, however, that ending kind of made me reel in disgust - just my opinion.


People find this review helpful!

riseuptoit1riseuptoit1

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 24, 2013

it was an a good story but for me, it took to long for anything to really happen, the first 5:00 were boring for me, it really discouraged me to not watch it.



DeathCardsDeathCards

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars February 24, 2013

how the fock is this sad nor scary???
Its a nice story that it would be better if it didnt show the monster from the start and whole monster at the middle..



GrimzeroxGrimzerox

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 24, 2013

Really sad story and had I watched it during night it might have been actually scary. The music fits the animation very well and the unusual art style makes it stand out. Excellent work.



SigmaTaurusSigmaTaurus

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 24, 2013

Well, your animation and music skills are remarkable. Your story scripting needs a lot of work. The titles and the first 4 minutes were slow and uninteresting. Even though, this was a excellent piece of art. Congratulations and keep improving your story telling abilities.