Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 7, 2013 | 4:21 PM EST
  • Daily Feature February 8, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

67 Deep Sixer 5 Points Defeat the 67 Bots.
Bad Dude 5 Points Defeat the Bad Dudes.
Butt Pincher 5 Points Defeat the HUGE Jerks.
Castle Crusher 5 Points Defeat the Castle Crashers.
Channel Flipper 5 Points Defeat the Regular TV crew.
Emotikiller 5 Points Kill the NG Emotes.
Evil Slayer 5 Points Defeat the Evil Bosses.
Gang Banger 5 Points Defeat 10 random bosses.
Hate the Game 5 Points Defeat the VG Legends.
Jerk Killer 5 Points Defeat the Jerk Squad.
Killer of Legends 5 Points Kill the legendary characters.
N00Binator 5 Points Kill the N00bs.
Proletariat 5 Points Defeat the Bourgeois.
Travisty 5 Points Defeat the Travis Bots.
Troll 5 Points Defeat the NG Folks.
Unpatriotic 5 Points Defeat the Patriots.

Author Comments

Our old TVs have returned from being scuttled into space and they have made a sport out of killing humans!

Play as humans to fight waves of Raybots OR play as the Raybots and build new robots for humans to fight. The best robots will be added to official campaigns! Also note - that campaign list has a yellow scroll bar down the ride side, with a lot more campaigns down below!

Big thanks to Mike for all the programming support with the API and drawing tools. Big thanks to Stamper for the player select music and menu sprucing. Big thanks to RicePirate for the intro and select screen voice. Big thanks to all the testers who helped build Raybots!

Controls:
A or Z = Primary Weapon
S or X = Secondary Weapon
Arrows - Run, Jump, Drop through platforms

In human mode you can earn trophies and compete for high scores in the campaign mode. You can also browse the Boss Files and discover bosses not featured in the campaigns! Your letter grade is based on how much health you maintain during battle. Your score is based on a combination of health and time throughout the campaign.

In Raybot mode, you can edit your level, draw your own robot face, equip hats and hands, customize your weapons and record a pattern. While recording a pattern, hit SPACE to open the exit, then walk over the exit to close your loop! Every boss is a looping pattern. You must TEST and defeat your boss in order to save him, otherwise it isn't fair sport.

You unlock hats and hands by voting on the Raybots you fight in human mode.

In Raybot mode, some weapons have alternate versions. For example click the bullet icon multiple times for different bullets, or click the bomb icon multiple times for different bombs. Remember, you can equip both your A and S key weapons! When customization sliders are available, give them a try and see how it impacts your weapon.

Tap your "M" key to toggle Mute.

UPDATE (2/8/13): Turns out there was a massive teleporting bug that could result in you not being able to open the exit and close your pattern loop. I imagine this is the cause of the complaints about that issue. It's fixed! You may need to clear your cache.

Reviews


alphaghoulalphaghoul

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 11, 2013

great art ,voice acting, and idea. you should add customization for the humans, like playing as the brain robot, have the level creators program what weapons the humans use, as in make more weapons or give them the raybots weapons, and lasty but not leastly powerups.



Zombie-PimpZombie-Pimp

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 11, 2013

This is such a brilliant concept for a game. Honestly, the idea is nothing short of genius. My hats off to you guys. BUT there are some serious issues that really detract from this game. First of all, sometimes the pattern mode will work for me, sometimes it won't. I have no idea why. I find if I close firefox and restart it, it will sometimes work when it had stopped working.

Secondly, many of the 'difficult' campaign levels revolve too heavily around those wierd purple orbs, which imo are a very lame game mechanic. I'm not one to complain about mechanics as long as they're somehow surmountable, my policy is "shut up and adapt", but the orbs are just so lame, especially when certain bosses just spam them everywhere. I basically just don't have any control over my character, there is no timing or slight of hand involved that can improve my chances of winning when those orbs are spammed, I just have to mash my attack and arrow keys to try and face the right direction and hopefully get a hit on the boss. I think it's funny that one of the boss titles was "Hope for the best", because that's exactly what the game is reduced to because of those silly orbs. I do manage to beat the bosses, but not because of any adaptation or pattern recognition, just by spamming like an idiot (which is exactly what the boss does too).

I also think that it's very frustrating how I can't practise on a certain boss without reloading the game. If I want to fight the boss I lost to, I click the boss's name on the 'you lose' screen, but the button just opens a new window and I have to reload the game, which will then let me try the boss again. I have to open a new window each time I want to fight the same boss twice. This is cripplingly inconvenient, for such a great game to have such an annoying problem. Furhtermore, I can't really find a way to search for a boss that I played a day before or something. Maybe there is a search bar and I can't find it? Another thing is that there is no way to simply 'restart' a campaign. Like, if I know I'm not doing well on a boss, I have to exit the campaign and then go back to the campaign select screen, and then scroll down and click the campaign again. This just wastes my time when there could be a 'restart campagin' button or something.

Anyways, this is a marvel of a game. It's a billion dollar idea and it could have been the most sensational browser-based game in years. But some crippling oversights have really hurt the overall experience. I feel like it would have been fine for you guys to take more time with this game and work out the kinks before releasing it. Such a great idea deserves the best packaging and delivery.


Lots of people find this review helpful!

ToaIgnikiToaIgniki

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 11, 2013

Damnit, Sabtastic! You make this game far too hard.


People find this review helpful!

VirpemVirpem

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 11, 2013

Good concept, but it's just not letting me record my bosses. You said this was fixed, but...it's not. Maybe I'm doing something wrong? I tried an endless amount of sequences with the spacebar and whatnot, but nothing's worked. Could you possibly supply a more in-depth instruction, or a how-to video?


People find this review helpful!

Tankmaster101Tankmaster101

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 10, 2013

I really want to give this a higher score, but I'm experiencing a game-breaker bug, so I really can't. I'm running Chrome on OSX, and there's an annoying case of the gaming muting itself when you press "M"... in the name entry field. Which is an oversight. I've also had repeat situations where pressing spacebar did not open up the exit when in pattern mode.

This is a game with a huge amount of potential, and it would really show if I didn't have to reload the page every two minutes and lose all of my work simply because I get stuck in bot creation.


TomFulp responds:

The next update will fix the mute button bug! I'm testing these record issues at the moment.