Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 7, 2013 | 4:21 PM EST
  • Daily Feature February 8, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

67 Deep Sixer 5 Points Defeat the 67 Bots.
Bad Dude 5 Points Defeat the Bad Dudes.
Butt Pincher 5 Points Defeat the HUGE Jerks.
Castle Crusher 5 Points Defeat the Castle Crashers.
Channel Flipper 5 Points Defeat the Regular TV crew.
Emotikiller 5 Points Kill the NG Emotes.
Evil Slayer 5 Points Defeat the Evil Bosses.
Gang Banger 5 Points Defeat 10 random bosses.
Hate the Game 5 Points Defeat the VG Legends.
Jerk Killer 5 Points Defeat the Jerk Squad.
Killer of Legends 5 Points Kill the legendary characters.
N00Binator 5 Points Kill the N00bs.
Proletariat 5 Points Defeat the Bourgeois.
Travisty 5 Points Defeat the Travis Bots.
Troll 5 Points Defeat the NG Folks.
Unpatriotic 5 Points Defeat the Patriots.

Author Comments

Our old TVs have returned from being scuttled into space and they have made a sport out of killing humans!

Play as humans to fight waves of Raybots OR play as the Raybots and build new robots for humans to fight. The best robots will be added to official campaigns! Also note - that campaign list has a yellow scroll bar down the ride side, with a lot more campaigns down below!

Big thanks to Mike for all the programming support with the API and drawing tools. Big thanks to Stamper for the player select music and menu sprucing. Big thanks to RicePirate for the intro and select screen voice. Big thanks to all the testers who helped build Raybots!

Controls:
A or Z = Primary Weapon
S or X = Secondary Weapon
Arrows - Run, Jump, Drop through platforms

In human mode you can earn trophies and compete for high scores in the campaign mode. You can also browse the Boss Files and discover bosses not featured in the campaigns! Your letter grade is based on how much health you maintain during battle. Your score is based on a combination of health and time throughout the campaign.

In Raybot mode, you can edit your level, draw your own robot face, equip hats and hands, customize your weapons and record a pattern. While recording a pattern, hit SPACE to open the exit, then walk over the exit to close your loop! Every boss is a looping pattern. You must TEST and defeat your boss in order to save him, otherwise it isn't fair sport.

You unlock hats and hands by voting on the Raybots you fight in human mode.

In Raybot mode, some weapons have alternate versions. For example click the bullet icon multiple times for different bullets, or click the bomb icon multiple times for different bombs. Remember, you can equip both your A and S key weapons! When customization sliders are available, give them a try and see how it impacts your weapon.

Tap your "M" key to toggle Mute.

UPDATE (2/8/13): Turns out there was a massive teleporting bug that could result in you not being able to open the exit and close your pattern loop. I imagine this is the cause of the complaints about that issue. It's fixed! You may need to clear your cache.

Reviews


CosmicRXNCosmicRXN

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 12, 2013

Wow this is addictive as hell lol Those damn emotes though... I can't get past the second guy X____X

Tom Fulp, I love you


People find this review helpful!

poopthenoobpoopthenoob

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 12, 2013

the problem, at least in my opinion, is that you can't program a robot to be smart or have skill (at least not in a flash game). you can, however, program a robot to be a cheap-shotting bastard


People find this review helpful!

aaronderuiteraaronderuiter

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 12, 2013

My macintosh has a different issue than my Vista. On Vista I can't close a pattern, and on mac I can still hurt the ghost with certain attacks. Please fix these annoying bugs. Furthermore an awesome game.


People find this review helpful!

MoiderahMoiderah

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 12, 2013

This game. This fucking game. I fucking love this fucking game. Why do I fucking love this fucking game? I'll fucking explain why I fucking love this fucking game. Because why the fucking fuck not?

But seriously, brilliant concept. The idea of making custom bosses is simply brilliant. I cannot tell you how much of a blast it was to create a boss and set up a pattern for them to follow. It is simply a blast, and yes, it was more than worth it to see that pattern that I spent several minutes on being put onto an in-game robot.

The actual gameplay works just as well, with great movement. The controls are extremely tight. Like, Megaman levels of tight. It feels great to play, and the charge shot mechanic prevents spamming super powerful shots. With such nice controls, it should feel like the difficulty is pure and not-cheap, right? Right?!

Well, that's not so. Because Sturgeon's Revelation applies to everything, many of the user-created levels relied on vicious fake difficulty. The lack of a retry button was also annoying, as I couldn't retry beating that boss that kicked my ass just seconds before. Spamming is huge, and those black hole bombs are NGNNNNNNNNNGHHHHHHARHGGAAAAARGGGGGGGG GGGGGH-

But that's because of user-created content. That's a given, 90% of it is always going to be pure shit, but maybe preventing the knockback from the LOLBOMBSPAM from being so bad wouldn't have made it so annoying.

That said, the game is really solid. The controls are nice, many of the campaign bosses are very well-made, with patterns that can be seen and beaten with enough know-how and skill. I love the difficulty. I love the customization. I love the weapons and the art style, though customizing humans would have been a cool thing to do.

It's a solid game. One of the best around, and nothing's ever gonna bring it down until the next best game around.


People find this review helpful!

ti6oti6o

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 12, 2013

Great game but can you tell me how can I create a boss