Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 25, 2013 | 2:28 AM EST
  • Daily 3rd Place January 26, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Arrow Death 5 Points You got impaled by a Gobblo's arrow!
Arrow To The Neck 5 Points Ouch. You took an arrow straight to the neckery.
Arrow To The Stomach 5 Points Yeowch. You took a nasty arrow to the stomachial region.
Baseball Bat 5 Points You found the baseball bat!
Extra Kupo 5 Points You've earned extra kupo!
Fanboy 5 Points You found the fanboy hoodie! It's from your favorite game of all time!
Giant Fist 5 Points You caught a giant fist to the face... and exploded. True story.
Got Battle Dagger 5 Points The kitchen knife that you found has turned into the battle dagger! Shweet!
Got Bombs 5 Points You got yourself some bombs! Now, let's go blow s**t up!
Got Soul Bangle 5 Points You got the Soul Bangle dude! Now you can throw blue fireballs! Hadoken!
Got Steel Sword 5 Points You've found a way to get the Steel Sword! Congratulations!
Got Wooden Sword 5 Points The bat that you found has turned into a wooden sword!
Halfsies 5 Points You got split into two by a bandit elf! Crap!
Impalation 5 Points You got impaled by a bandit elf's thrown sword! Deadly!
Skull 5 Points You found the hidden skull!
Start 5 Points Start the game... press the play button.
Beatdown 10 Points You beat the crap out of that bandit elf! Yeesh...
Blue Flames 10 Points You used the Soul Bangle to send a powerful blast of blue energy at an unlucky bandit elf.
Bombed 10 Points You chucked a bomb at a bandit and blew his guts all over the place!
Dagger To La Face 10 Points You said, "Screw it!" and threw your dagger at a bandit's face! Shweet!
Dead Bird 10 Points You found the dead blue bird!
Electrocuted 10 Points You electrocuted a bandit elf via a Super Pretendo controller!
Face Knifed 10 Points You stuck a dangerously sharp dagger into the fleshy face of an outclassed bandit elf... Nicely done.
Fatal Error 10 Points You found the only way to die in scene 1!
Gobblo Arrow Kill 10 Points You made the Gobblo enemy shoot himself in the face! Cool!
Gobblo Dagger Kill 10 Points Kill the Gobblo with the Battle Dagger!
Gobblo Wood Kill 10 Points You killed a Gobblo with the wooden sword!
Goober 10 Points You found the Goober action figurine!
No Defense 10 Points You failed to block an incoming vertical slash... tsk, tsk...
Pissed Off Shopkeeper 10 Points Dude.... You so shouldn't have made Hobart mad, dude.
Rock Death 10 Points You killed yourself using an immensely heavy rock!
Spin Attack 10 Points You used the jumping spin attack on that blondie of a bandit elf! Good work.
Spinning Destruction 10 Points You used an ultra-powerful, double spin slash to decimate the bandit elf who deserved it!
Squished 10 Points The Ogre grabbed you and squeezed you until you went "pop"
Stabbered 10 Points The bandit threw a knife at you and gotcha right through the heart!
Weak Defense 10 Points Looks like you TRIED to block, buuuut..... yeeeaaahhh....
Wheel Of Decimation 10 Points Whoah... Don't you think that was a bit... uh, overkill? It was entertaining though.
You Should Block 10 Points Sooo, yeah, you should try blocking sometime....
Controller 25 Points You found the video game controller!
Knife 25 Points You found the knife!
Poop 25 Points You found bird poop! Yay!
Shrunken Head 25 Points You found the magical shrunken head!
Game Won 50 Points You freakin' beat the freakin' game! Holy moly!
Ogre Destroyed 50 Points You've defeated the Ogre! Holy crap!

Author Comments

[WALKTHROUGH]
There is now a walkthrough available, courtesy of the fine writers over at JayIsGames. If you get stuck somewhere, check it out! It actually details the entire game for all of you completionists out there.

[02.04.2013 PERFORMANCE UPDATE]
- Changed BG's from vector to bitmaps, increasing the game's performance dramatically. Most players should be able to play on HIGH quality now :D
- Tweaks to the Ogre's attack patterns have been added

[01.30.2013 UPDATE]
- Officially, officially fixed the Death/Restart Menu glitch
- Added a drop shadow effect to the mute button and Ogre battle restart button

[SORTA-MAJOR UPDATE]
- New red click-indication arrows have been added to let players know where and when to click on the different action scenes
- Hint arrows added to the intro of the Ogre fight scene
- Music mute on/off toggle has been added

[UPDATE]
- Restart/Death Menu would sometimes still be visible after restarting already; This bug has been remedied.

[UPDATE]
- The Ogre's attacks can now be anticipated a bit better in this version... however, he's now much harder to beat. It takes 6 successful attacks to kill the Ogre.

[THE 4TH ARROW -- BANDIT ELF ARCHER SCENE]
Ok, so everyone seems to keep missing the 4th arrow. That's done intentionally. The 4th arrow is much faster and at a slightly lower location than the first 3 arrows. After you block the 4th arrow, quickly click on the bandit elf to choose his death.

[UPDATE: FIXES]
- Boss now has less life and should be less "buggy," but also starts attacking more quickly
- There is now a "restart" button on the Boss stage, just in case of any weird, game-stopping bug occurance. The restart button makes elfmin explode, then brings up the restart menu... pretty entertaining just killing yourself actually lol
- The knife icon now responds to when you've thrown it at the bandit elf

[RECOMMENDED SETTINGS]
I recommend that people play this game on the 'Medium' (unless you're sure your computer can handle it -- I'd rather everyone fully appreciate the artwork on the High setting, honestly) setting, due to the highly detailed artwork/animations creating lag when the game is played online. You can find the Quality settings in the top left-hand side of the game.

[GAME BACKSTORY]
You are Edwin. A normal kid, with a normal life. One day, you're playing video games with your girlfriend and all's good. You're about to beat your favorite game of all time, "The Legend of Hooligan," when suddenly, Lord Gorn (the warlock within the game) reaches into the reality realm and nabs your girlfriend! Oh my, lord, jesus, f**k! ...Panicking, you stupidly throw a wild punch and miss, leaving Lord Gorn with a perfect opportunity to smash your face in. Before you know it, you're laying unconscious, on the floor of your room.
[END OF GAME BACKSTORY INTRO]

Greetings Newgrounders!

Behold! I bring you.... Elf Story! An epic (yet short) journey into a game realm, heavily inspired by the legend of zelda series.

Elf Story is a point-n-click adventure that's heavy in art/animation. A very simple game to get into, and one that almost everyone can appreciate, I would think.

You'll assume the role of Edwin, who later becomes Elfmin, on a 10-scene quest to try and find your girlfriend while battling off vicious enemies...

Enjoy the beautifully animated kills and death sequences as you journey through the painstakingly detailed backgrounds and scenes. Seriously... too much damn work was put into the art and animations... So, please, enjoy the game.

Also, if you notice any bugs at all, please PM me. Thanks!

[OUTRO]
You've learned new skills and earned new weapons. You've unlocked achievements and killed many a foe. Though you've reached the end of this chapter, your journey is not over... You must finish what you started.
[END OF OUTRO TEXT]

Reviews


ChrymzonChrymzon

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 23, 2013

I feel like I am dying in the game even if I am not at fault for it. Like the part with the giant is insane. My character isn't reacting fast enough even if I keep clicking in the direction to dodge. Movement in the game is slow, and battle happens in an instant. The only way to get past the part with the archer is to spam click where his arrows appear.


People find this review helpful!

skulblaka71skulblaka71

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 23, 2013

Goddamnit, I love everything about this game except that it is infuriatingly slow. Especially when I keep dying and have to play the same scene over thirty times.


People find this review helpful!

thedadgame123thedadgame123

Rated 2 / 5 stars February 23, 2013

how do i get the kithcen knife



trancesephirothtrancesephiroth

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 23, 2013

I honestly gave you the highest score I thought this should get. The artwork is great, one star.The animations are great all around and has a high production value, one star. The sound effects are satisfying and the music is based on your personal preference.I think it didn't fit atmosphere of the game much and found it annoying after a while, half a star. Another half star is for the story, it's almost nonexistent once you enter the TV, and frankly I didn't finish the game so I cant give it anymore than that since I have no idea what happens in the end. The gameplay itself is where the game truly falls down, no star.

Now let me elaborate, the gameplay is that of a point and click adventure with quicktime events as the way to progress. I have no issue with this, in fact I think it really spices up the point and click formula, I haven't seen many point and click games with actual animation and interactions, so kudos for that. Why the gameplay is "bad' is that its possibly the most frustrating and unnecessarily cheap gameplay I have seen in a LONG time. After a couple of well animated deaths and medal for each one, I pretty much got the idea that you wanted the player to die often enough to actually see those deaths you worked hard to animate and not breeze through the game dying maybe once or twice and never looking back at it. I don't have a major problem with it because while frustrating, it is still a bit entertaining. The problem arises from the fact that it's how easy it is to die repeatedly in the same place and how often that can happen. People don't like to die repeatedly over the course of a game, it frustrates them and makes them feel like they aren't any good/unskilled and they will then take out that frustration on the game and the creators as is obvious for the general tone of the reviews. Dying repeatedly in the same spot because there was a lack of warning or just not enough time to process everything that's happening is just cheap and this game runs with that cheapness and takes it to the extreme. I died at every instance you could die, and not for a lack of trying to do otherwise. It didn't make the game unbearable as I said, but it was a bit frustrating dying EVERY SINGLE time an enemy was onscreen. the archer with the 4 arrows was where I began to really feel like this game was just screwing with me. The reaction time given to the arrows was (understandably) low, but it was so low that there was no chance of me actually getting any of them on the first try, so I ended up repeating that scene about 6 times just to progress. Then came the ogre and that's where I stopped. After about 15 attempts I called it quits. There is no way to react in time to what the ogre does in any form of way that can be called strategic, there is no pattern, his tells are too breif and basically you jump around and pray he doesn't delay long enough to screw you in that split second it takes the character to start his dodge animation. There was also no indication that you had to hit his head so you had to die quite a few times just to see where on his body you could click, which was a large departure from every other enemy in the game having an arrow hover over where you could click to kill them. All in all, that is a terrible, punishing and utterly frustrating fight to all but the most persistent players.

The other thing is the lethargic way the character moved, the damned rock and the repeated deaths were just a way to artificially inflate the 'length' of the game. That was a really cheap way to accomplish this, like the Ninja Gaiden series. Boo sir, Boo...

I've noticed while reading through the reviews while searching for a way to actually beat that goddamned ogre, you really only responded to reviews that were mostly positive and not the ones that were critical of the game. That's fine. If you even glance over this one, I hope you take into consideration what I've said here and make the sequel a much better game because I can tell a lot of really hard work went into this and as I said before, the quality is truly great.


People find this review helpful!

death0goddeath0god

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 23, 2013

This is a pretty fun game, nice and simple there aren't too many times I get annoyed with the controls but when I do get annyed it's usually over something small. I've gotten all but one medal and that is the no defence medal I can't seem to get it.


People find this review helpful!