Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 4, 2013 | 2:04 PM EST

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Glitchtastic 25 Points Beat the boss level
Hopeless Romantic 25 Points A-Rank in Intimate
Mission Accomplished 25 Points Beat the final level of the demo
Pearl Jam of the Orient 25 Points A-Rank in Oriental Techno
Wubwubwub 50 Points A-Rank in Oriental Techno (Hard)
Secrets 100 Points Unlock the secret stage!
Perfection! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

5/4/14 - Updated with new BOSS LEVEL! Also: Press CapsLock during a level to toggle an experimental 2-player version. P2 uses the L key. It might make some of the multi-row levels easier ;) (And also, hallelujah Chrome has been updated so there aren't latency problems any more! At least on Windows, dunno about Mac.) Thanks again for the reviews and feedback, it is really nice that a lot of you are enjoying the game.

25/3/14 - GO TO rhythmdr.com FOR NEWER VERSION. I WILL UPDATE THIS ONE WITH BOSS LEVEL AND TWO-PLAYER DROP-IN MODE SOON! (in the next week if possible!!)

10/2/14 - Thank you so much for the reviews and suggestions, we always read each one, and they're what keeps us going! The Newgrounds version is now slightly old, there is an updated version here with one extra level: tinyurl.com/rdigf. I will get the Newgrounds version to match that one soon hopefully! And stay tuned for the full version somewhere far in the distant future...

11/1/13 - Hit window has been tightened up a bit following more playtesting. Songs are hosted on Dropbox btw, so if it says loading 0% for more than a few seconds then Dropbox is down! Doesn't happen often though, they're quite reliable.

10/1/13 - Feedback dialogue upon failing a level is now skippable! Thanks to the suggestions in the comments, and the NG team for featuring the game. You may need to Ctrl-F5 (or the Mac/Linux equivalent) the page to clear your cache and get it to load the newer version.

Edit: Thank you for all the kind words people :) We're trying hard to get this game sponsored so we can dole out the full version. So if you liked it, rating this game on the sidebar (even multiple times!) to the left would be very charitable of you and help increase the game's visibility in this Flash jungle. The review scores don't count towards the rating, so if you wrote a review it would doubly help if you rated on the sidebar too. WE LOVE YOU!

Oh, unlocking the secret level involves perfecting a particularly hard level. It's.. for your own good.
--

THIS GAME HAS VERY STRICT TIMING. THE FOLLOWING IS NEEDED TO PLAY ACCURATELY:

Browser: Anything but Chrome (update: Should now work on Chrome if it's the latest version of Chrome! Right click the game and check the version of the Chrome Flash is at least 12.0!)
Flash Player: 11.4 or above

IF YOU INSIST ON USING (an old) CHROME: The Chrome problem is not specific to this game, but affects all games. It's just this game requires a degree of accuracy so high that the tiny lag caused by Chrome's inbuilt Flash Player is enough to throw the timing off. YOU CAN MAKE IT WORK IN CHROME by going to chrome://plugins and disabling all plugins with 'PepperFlash' in the location. This will make it use the normal Flash player like the other browsers, if you have it installed.

IF YOU ARE USING LINUX: The latest Flash version for you is 11.2 which unfortunately doesn't include the amazing sound latency update. The game should still be playable, the only difference being that the audiophiles will notice a 0.1s latency between pressing a key and hearing its sound effect. However if you're used to playing flash games on 11.2 and have never noticed this then it shouldn't affect you! Just press enter at the warning.
--

Rhythm Doctor is a tough ONE-BUTTON rhythm game heavily inspired by Rhythm Heaven!

For those who played Rhythm Heaven, the defining feature of the series is the extremely strict margin of error, compared to any other music game out there. This means many people even realise their rhythm is a little off until they play Rhythm Heaven. My game seeks to emulate that feeling :)

Many. many hours have been spent making the engine accurate. After extensive testing we found a calibration that worked for all browsers except Chrome, which lags due to it using PepperFlash. Enjoy!

>

Reviews


tgryphontgryphon

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 27, 2013

Oh, how I love this game.
Simple controls, but while the timing is on the stricter side, it's certainly fair. Deceptively easy, at first. Then you throw in the multiple rhythms at the same time, and it challenges even experienced musicians. I've gotten an S on everything EXCEPT the Tier 6 (Secret Level) song, which is bugging the heck out of me and keeps bringing me back for more (though it seems I'm in good company with that). (The Matchbox Twenty song just goes on forever and ever past the end of the song itself and cannot be completed. Boo.)

Music is fantastic for this game. While "Unwell" was OK for the concept, I think the custom-written music was far better for gameplay, and lyrics are only mildly annoying distractions when you're trying to maintain the beat. Keep writing your own stuff - it's great! (Also, I got so used to the Chinese cues that I was sad that they weren't on the downloadable track for "Oriental Techno" - it goes so well!)

CRAVING more. Simple, great music, great fun, great game.



MarinV92MarinV92

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 28, 2013

As a drummer (primarily progressive metal/drumline percussion), I've fallen in love with this game even though it's not whacky like DDR. The multitasking challenges make this game even more fun as well as the originality of the music, and how fun the songs are to listen to. I can't really mention polyrhythms here, but hey, it's complex enough for most to keep up with 3 or even 4 patients. The challenge is really fun and good to make the brain work, so the musicology is strong. Keep up the awesome work, I love it!



CorruptedFox619CorruptedFox619

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 6, 2013

Truly a masterpiece rhythm game, keep up the good work.


People find this review helpful!

xtigerstrikerxtigerstriker

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 5, 2013

very tough, but fun!



TiDittoTiDitto

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 26, 2013

This, is, the, best, ever!
Why is this not on ios and android yet? I bet if it did happen it would instantly get editors pick or whatever they call it.
love it, very good, much like rhythm heaven.
A suggestion. Is there any way you can make the girl counting mutable? It is really distracting and usually leads me to just here ee ee ee over and over not actually knowing what happens (i play with my eyes closed so watching may help, but it is still distracting