Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 4, 2013 | 2:04 PM EST

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Glitchtastic 25 Points Beat the boss level
Hopeless Romantic 25 Points A-Rank in Intimate
Mission Accomplished 25 Points Beat the final level of the demo
Pearl Jam of the Orient 25 Points A-Rank in Oriental Techno
Wubwubwub 50 Points A-Rank in Oriental Techno (Hard)
Secrets 100 Points Unlock the secret stage!
Perfection! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

5/4/14 - Updated with new BOSS LEVEL! Also: Press CapsLock during a level to toggle an experimental 2-player version. P2 uses the L key. It might make some of the multi-row levels easier ;) (And also, hallelujah Chrome has been updated so there aren't latency problems any more! At least on Windows, dunno about Mac.) Thanks again for the reviews and feedback, it is really nice that a lot of you are enjoying the game.

25/3/14 - GO TO rhythmdr.com FOR NEWER VERSION. I WILL UPDATE THIS ONE WITH BOSS LEVEL AND TWO-PLAYER DROP-IN MODE SOON! (in the next week if possible!!)

10/2/14 - Thank you so much for the reviews and suggestions, we always read each one, and they're what keeps us going! The Newgrounds version is now slightly old, there is an updated version here with one extra level: tinyurl.com/rdigf. I will get the Newgrounds version to match that one soon hopefully! And stay tuned for the full version somewhere far in the distant future...

11/1/13 - Hit window has been tightened up a bit following more playtesting. Songs are hosted on Dropbox btw, so if it says loading 0% for more than a few seconds then Dropbox is down! Doesn't happen often though, they're quite reliable.

10/1/13 - Feedback dialogue upon failing a level is now skippable! Thanks to the suggestions in the comments, and the NG team for featuring the game. You may need to Ctrl-F5 (or the Mac/Linux equivalent) the page to clear your cache and get it to load the newer version.

Edit: Thank you for all the kind words people :) We're trying hard to get this game sponsored so we can dole out the full version. So if you liked it, rating this game on the sidebar (even multiple times!) to the left would be very charitable of you and help increase the game's visibility in this Flash jungle. The review scores don't count towards the rating, so if you wrote a review it would doubly help if you rated on the sidebar too. WE LOVE YOU!

Oh, unlocking the secret level involves perfecting a particularly hard level. It's.. for your own good.
--

THIS GAME HAS VERY STRICT TIMING. THE FOLLOWING IS NEEDED TO PLAY ACCURATELY:

Browser: Anything but Chrome (update: Should now work on Chrome if it's the latest version of Chrome! Right click the game and check the version of the Chrome Flash is at least 12.0!)
Flash Player: 11.4 or above

IF YOU INSIST ON USING (an old) CHROME: The Chrome problem is not specific to this game, but affects all games. It's just this game requires a degree of accuracy so high that the tiny lag caused by Chrome's inbuilt Flash Player is enough to throw the timing off. YOU CAN MAKE IT WORK IN CHROME by going to chrome://plugins and disabling all plugins with 'PepperFlash' in the location. This will make it use the normal Flash player like the other browsers, if you have it installed.

IF YOU ARE USING LINUX: The latest Flash version for you is 11.2 which unfortunately doesn't include the amazing sound latency update. The game should still be playable, the only difference being that the audiophiles will notice a 0.1s latency between pressing a key and hearing its sound effect. However if you're used to playing flash games on 11.2 and have never noticed this then it shouldn't affect you! Just press enter at the warning.
--

Rhythm Doctor is a tough ONE-BUTTON rhythm game heavily inspired by Rhythm Heaven!

For those who played Rhythm Heaven, the defining feature of the series is the extremely strict margin of error, compared to any other music game out there. This means many people even realise their rhythm is a little off until they play Rhythm Heaven. My game seeks to emulate that feeling :)

Many. many hours have been spent making the engine accurate. After extensive testing we found a calibration that worked for all browsers except Chrome, which lags due to it using PepperFlash. Enjoy!

>

Reviews


CorruptedFox619CorruptedFox619

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 6, 2013

Truly a masterpiece rhythm game, keep up the good work.


People find this review helpful!

WayeroWayero

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 6, 2013

I really enjoy rhythm games so my opinion is going to be biased toward the positive side. I think the one button concept works well, the simplicity of the rhythm works well, and the presentation is great.

I did have an issue with being limited to the space bar. I am able to press other buttons much more reliably than space bar. It's more of a personal thing because I don't like how large space bar is, less precision with the press.

One small problem I had with the gameplay is that reading the rhythm is more difficult than it should be. Of course I know there needs to be some challenge, but when I was trying to catch multiple beats without the line separating the 6th and 7th beats I had trouble keeping up and I felt I was trying to memorize the beat without having a clear indication of when to press the button. Yes, I know how to count to seven, but like I said, it was difficult to match the cue with the intended press.

The additional hard levels seem like a better place for those who can learn the rhythm without the cues. A player like me needs a clearer distinction between the different beats in order to perform well. Sometimes the soft beats did not stand out and I was going off of the bar more than the sound.

I hope my rambling isn't too confusing. Overall I think the concept is great and I would like to play the final version.

Here's a summary:
1. Ability to change button from space bar to another keyboard would be nice
2. Normal mode bar should stay, hard mode bar can disappear
3. Clearer distinction between tones to lower ambiguity of counting 7th beat
4. Too much talking and text for a rhythm game (I don't think holding the space bar works well enough)
5. Great demo. Made me want to play more. I'll play Rhythm Heaven while I await the final version of Rhythm Doctor.

I give the demo 4 stars because there didn't feel like enough there. The full version is most likely to get a 5. Thanks for making this. It's already on my Newgrounds favorites list.


People find this review helpful!
fizzd responds:

Thanks for the review, I've thought a lot about cues when designing the game. Part of the reason for the insane visuals in the first level is to allow the player to not rely on looking at the screen but trust their instinct and just hit on the downbeat. It's the same in the third level, how each 'layer' is introduced in turn to give enough time for the player to understand on which beat they should hit for that particular layer - from then on it is just up to the player to assemble the three layers into one tapping rhythm. It's not expected for the player to keep track of all three layers out of the box by looking at the visuals.

1. It's unstated but can use the Shift keys, as well as the S and D keys, as an alternative button. :)

4. Thanks, I'll take that into account if more people bring it up as a negative.


DrawdeHellfireDrawdeHellfire

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 6, 2013

I gave it a 5 before I even started playing just based off the 5 second intro. The sound itself is just incredible.


People find this review helpful!
fizzd responds:

Thanks! I tried to make as many things in the game sync nicely to the music as possible, it took way more effort but makes for a nice effect.


BarzonaBarzona

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 6, 2013

Their hearts broke.. and chickens were inside..

Yeah, I sucked pretty bad come level 3, but the game is pretty fun. I'm sure if I practiced..

Nice work! Love the music and style. :)



donramiresdonramires

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars January 5, 2013

Linux
Mozilla, Firefox, SeaMonkey (Flash Player 11.2 is the last supported Flash Player version for Linux. Adobe will continue to provide security updates.)
11.2.202.258

so that means I'm never gonna play this game. Windows sucks - and Adobe's not too different...


fizzd responds:

Contrary to popular belief this is not our fault ;) Note added in description for Linux users.