Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 4, 2013 | 2:04 PM EST

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Glitchtastic 25 Points Beat the boss level
Hopeless Romantic 25 Points A-Rank in Intimate
Mission Accomplished 25 Points Beat the final level of the demo
Pearl Jam of the Orient 25 Points A-Rank in Oriental Techno
Wubwubwub 50 Points A-Rank in Oriental Techno (Hard)
Secrets 100 Points Unlock the secret stage!
Perfection! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

5/4/14 - Updated with new BOSS LEVEL! Also: Press CapsLock during a level to toggle an experimental 2-player version. P2 uses the L key. It might make some of the multi-row levels easier ;) (And also, hallelujah Chrome has been updated so there aren't latency problems any more! At least on Windows, dunno about Mac.) Thanks again for the reviews and feedback, it is really nice that a lot of you are enjoying the game.

25/3/14 - GO TO rhythmdr.com FOR NEWER VERSION. I WILL UPDATE THIS ONE WITH BOSS LEVEL AND TWO-PLAYER DROP-IN MODE SOON! (in the next week if possible!!)

10/2/14 - Thank you so much for the reviews and suggestions, we always read each one, and they're what keeps us going! The Newgrounds version is now slightly old, there is an updated version here with one extra level: tinyurl.com/rdigf. I will get the Newgrounds version to match that one soon hopefully! And stay tuned for the full version somewhere far in the distant future...

11/1/13 - Hit window has been tightened up a bit following more playtesting. Songs are hosted on Dropbox btw, so if it says loading 0% for more than a few seconds then Dropbox is down! Doesn't happen often though, they're quite reliable.

10/1/13 - Feedback dialogue upon failing a level is now skippable! Thanks to the suggestions in the comments, and the NG team for featuring the game. You may need to Ctrl-F5 (or the Mac/Linux equivalent) the page to clear your cache and get it to load the newer version.

Edit: Thank you for all the kind words people :) We're trying hard to get this game sponsored so we can dole out the full version. So if you liked it, rating this game on the sidebar (even multiple times!) to the left would be very charitable of you and help increase the game's visibility in this Flash jungle. The review scores don't count towards the rating, so if you wrote a review it would doubly help if you rated on the sidebar too. WE LOVE YOU!

Oh, unlocking the secret level involves perfecting a particularly hard level. It's.. for your own good.
--

THIS GAME HAS VERY STRICT TIMING. THE FOLLOWING IS NEEDED TO PLAY ACCURATELY:

Browser: Anything but Chrome (update: Should now work on Chrome if it's the latest version of Chrome! Right click the game and check the version of the Chrome Flash is at least 12.0!)
Flash Player: 11.4 or above

IF YOU INSIST ON USING (an old) CHROME: The Chrome problem is not specific to this game, but affects all games. It's just this game requires a degree of accuracy so high that the tiny lag caused by Chrome's inbuilt Flash Player is enough to throw the timing off. YOU CAN MAKE IT WORK IN CHROME by going to chrome://plugins and disabling all plugins with 'PepperFlash' in the location. This will make it use the normal Flash player like the other browsers, if you have it installed.

IF YOU ARE USING LINUX: The latest Flash version for you is 11.2 which unfortunately doesn't include the amazing sound latency update. The game should still be playable, the only difference being that the audiophiles will notice a 0.1s latency between pressing a key and hearing its sound effect. However if you're used to playing flash games on 11.2 and have never noticed this then it shouldn't affect you! Just press enter at the warning.
--

Rhythm Doctor is a tough ONE-BUTTON rhythm game heavily inspired by Rhythm Heaven!

For those who played Rhythm Heaven, the defining feature of the series is the extremely strict margin of error, compared to any other music game out there. This means many people even realise their rhythm is a little off until they play Rhythm Heaven. My game seeks to emulate that feeling :)

Many. many hours have been spent making the engine accurate. After extensive testing we found a calibration that worked for all browsers except Chrome, which lags due to it using PepperFlash. Enjoy!

>

Reviews


kingrahemekingraheme

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 7, 2013

this game is great it is definitely something i could play for hours



kodak2012kodak2012

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 7, 2013

Good game. But no need to bash on chrome. Instead you could have simply said flash 11.2 required, other than that game was great, challenging, and had decent music to boot.


fizzd responds:

Haha, we're definitely not bashing for fun! Chrome's inbuilt flash player actually lags up every flash game universally by about 0.1s, it's just that in other games this delay is small enough to be not noticeable, however Rhythm Doctor is strict enough (requiring 0.02s precision) that it causes a problem in our game.


FearedSoulFearedSoul

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 7, 2013

Very fun! hope to see more of your work!



judio90judio90

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 7, 2013

Awesome game, very original, and very easy to play.
The only thing that i hate is that if you do a REAL perfect timing you always miss. This game have a little delay.
I actualize all things that you say, but the delay is here.
Please fix it :)


fizzd responds:

Hi, this is very important to us! You're the first to say the timing is off. Are you (1) using chrome, if so you might have not disabled pepper properly, see if theres the same problem in another browser, and (2) using flash 11.4 or later?


fruitberryboyfruitberryboy

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 7, 2013

Very fun
This is probably in my top 10 favorite rhythm games.
It's unique and I wish this was the whole game.

People complaining about chrome should get a life.
It works on my chrome and on top of that, you should probably have a back up web browser.
Only little kids wouldn't have one (i.e. sharpnova)
It's really immature to rate this game 0 just because you're incapable and lazy to use a different browser.


fizzd responds:

Thank you, glad to see at least some people read the instructions ! :)