Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 4, 2013 | 2:04 PM EST

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Glitchtastic 25 Points Beat the boss level
Hopeless Romantic 25 Points A-Rank in Intimate
Mission Accomplished 25 Points Beat the final level of the demo
Pearl Jam of the Orient 25 Points A-Rank in Oriental Techno
Wubwubwub 50 Points A-Rank in Oriental Techno (Hard)
Secrets 100 Points Unlock the secret stage!
Perfection! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

5/4/14 - Updated with new BOSS LEVEL! Also: Press CapsLock during a level to toggle an experimental 2-player version. P2 uses the L key. It might make some of the multi-row levels easier ;) (And also, hallelujah Chrome has been updated so there aren't latency problems any more! At least on Windows, dunno about Mac.) Thanks again for the reviews and feedback, it is really nice that a lot of you are enjoying the game.

25/3/14 - GO TO rhythmdr.com FOR NEWER VERSION. I WILL UPDATE THIS ONE WITH BOSS LEVEL AND TWO-PLAYER DROP-IN MODE SOON! (in the next week if possible!!)

10/2/14 - Thank you so much for the reviews and suggestions, we always read each one, and they're what keeps us going! The Newgrounds version is now slightly old, there is an updated version here with one extra level: tinyurl.com/rdigf. I will get the Newgrounds version to match that one soon hopefully! And stay tuned for the full version somewhere far in the distant future...

11/1/13 - Hit window has been tightened up a bit following more playtesting. Songs are hosted on Dropbox btw, so if it says loading 0% for more than a few seconds then Dropbox is down! Doesn't happen often though, they're quite reliable.

10/1/13 - Feedback dialogue upon failing a level is now skippable! Thanks to the suggestions in the comments, and the NG team for featuring the game. You may need to Ctrl-F5 (or the Mac/Linux equivalent) the page to clear your cache and get it to load the newer version.

Edit: Thank you for all the kind words people :) We're trying hard to get this game sponsored so we can dole out the full version. So if you liked it, rating this game on the sidebar (even multiple times!) to the left would be very charitable of you and help increase the game's visibility in this Flash jungle. The review scores don't count towards the rating, so if you wrote a review it would doubly help if you rated on the sidebar too. WE LOVE YOU!

Oh, unlocking the secret level involves perfecting a particularly hard level. It's.. for your own good.
--

THIS GAME HAS VERY STRICT TIMING. THE FOLLOWING IS NEEDED TO PLAY ACCURATELY:

Browser: Anything but Chrome (update: Should now work on Chrome if it's the latest version of Chrome! Right click the game and check the version of the Chrome Flash is at least 12.0!)
Flash Player: 11.4 or above

IF YOU INSIST ON USING (an old) CHROME: The Chrome problem is not specific to this game, but affects all games. It's just this game requires a degree of accuracy so high that the tiny lag caused by Chrome's inbuilt Flash Player is enough to throw the timing off. YOU CAN MAKE IT WORK IN CHROME by going to chrome://plugins and disabling all plugins with 'PepperFlash' in the location. This will make it use the normal Flash player like the other browsers, if you have it installed.

IF YOU ARE USING LINUX: The latest Flash version for you is 11.2 which unfortunately doesn't include the amazing sound latency update. The game should still be playable, the only difference being that the audiophiles will notice a 0.1s latency between pressing a key and hearing its sound effect. However if you're used to playing flash games on 11.2 and have never noticed this then it shouldn't affect you! Just press enter at the warning.
--

Rhythm Doctor is a tough ONE-BUTTON rhythm game heavily inspired by Rhythm Heaven!

For those who played Rhythm Heaven, the defining feature of the series is the extremely strict margin of error, compared to any other music game out there. This means many people even realise their rhythm is a little off until they play Rhythm Heaven. My game seeks to emulate that feeling :)

Many. many hours have been spent making the engine accurate. After extensive testing we found a calibration that worked for all browsers except Chrome, which lags due to it using PepperFlash. Enjoy!

>

Reviews


ASoftPillowASoftPillow

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 6, 2013

Wow...I'm honestly in love with this game..xD. The music can be nice and relaxing to listen to, or make you really energetic, so props for the music choice! Either way I found myself bobbing my head along to the beats of every song :). The visuals also go along greatly with the music, and as eyecandy, its pretty sweet. Really good job on this demo, I hope you guys manage to release the full version sometime soon.


People find this review helpful!

novalinnhenovalinnhe

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 1, 2013

First, the game. In two words, absolutely gorgeous; one of my favourite online rhythm games to date. It's such a simple concept, but the whole thing's been pulled off masterfully and as an avid fan of rhythm/music games I've fallen in love with how strict the timing is.

See, I've been playing music all my life (even studied it at college), so when I started getting misses in the first few levels I arrogantly assumed it was the game's fault. WRONG! The accuracy is *just that strict*, and I'm so used to breezing through rhythm-based Flash games that it totally caught me off guard. So do not assume that any sort of musical background will help you breeze through... you have to WORK to score an A! ;)

Now for browser stuff: I'm a Chrome user, and after testing the game on both this and IE, my Chrome seems to run it better! I'm running the 11.7 on both broswers, and fully cleared both before playing through. With IE, it seemed to start off latency free and then slow down (i.e. the latency would slowly build up until there was a noticeable gap). With Chrome, it lagged a lot at first but after playing through a few levels, the latency vanished completely. Bizarre!

P.S. The 'Intimate' levels are SO CUTE, my absolute favourites! >w< I'm hoping not to spoil anything, but when everything starts going in sync I "awwwww"ed out loud. And the nightshift version... LOL! Regular Casanova!


People find this review helpful!

umauxumaux

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 27, 2013

Hm. On Linux, it seems the only browser where I can use flash later than 11.2 is *drumroll* chrome! Flash has decided that 11.2 will be the latest version they make for Linux. II guess I'll just have to press a little early...
Great game otherwise - not your fault the makers of flash are bastards. (And now I see you even have mentioned this in the author comments.)
A big thank you for letting me play this game even though I'm not able to update to the latest flash player!
I will enjoy the extra challenge of pressing on the 6.5th beat... ;)

I really love the pixly style of the game, as well as the music. Nicely done.

If I were to remark on anything, it would be that I have to read through the intro every time I play a character. I don't need the farmer to explain how I play the game the second time I'm doing a "stage"/patient.
Other than that: great game!



BludThurstyBludThursty

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 27, 2013

For those who haven't noticed (Probably a lot, it happened to me by accident) you can FURTHER increase/decrease the difficulty.
Press "d" for a much more rapid tempo, and press "shift" for a slower tempo



donut42o69donut42o69

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 26, 2013

LOVE IT stuck on matchbox 20 tho but worth the hassel lol