Be a Supporter!

Rhythm Doctor

Score:
rated 4.24 / 5 stars
Views:
143,620 Views
Share Links:
Genre:
Rhythm
Tags:
hard
rhythm
onebutton
flashpunk

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 4, 2013 | 2:04 PM EST

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Glitchtastic 25 Points Beat the boss level
Hopeless Romantic 25 Points A-Rank in Intimate
Mission Accomplished 25 Points Beat the final level of the demo
Pearl Jam of the Orient 25 Points A-Rank in Oriental Techno
Wubwubwub 50 Points A-Rank in Oriental Techno (Hard)
Secrets 100 Points Unlock the secret stage!
Perfection! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

8/8/16 - Alright fixed! Thanks to Tom Fulp and Psycho Goldfish for such a quick response!

7/8/16 - Holy wow its been a long time. In the past two years Flash did some changes that meant the old version stopped loading songs. I'm gonna update this one soon to make it work here, in the meantime there's a working version at rhythmdr.com!!

5/4/14 - Updated with new BOSS LEVEL! Also: Press CapsLock during a level to toggle an experimental 2-player version. P2 uses the L key. It might make some of the multi-row levels easier ;) (And also, hallelujah Chrome has been updated so there aren't latency problems any more! At least on Windows, dunno about Mac.) Thanks again for the reviews and feedback, it is really nice that a lot of you are enjoying the game.

25/3/14 - GO TO rhythmdr.com FOR NEWER VERSION. I WILL UPDATE THIS ONE WITH BOSS LEVEL AND TWO-PLAYER DROP-IN MODE SOON! (in the next week if possible!!)

10/2/14 - Thank you so much for the reviews and suggestions, we always read each one, and they're what keeps us going!

11/1/13 - Hit window has been tightened up a bit following more playtesting.

10/1/13 - Feedback dialogue upon failing a level is now skippable! Thanks to the suggestions in the comments, and the NG team for featuring the game.

Edit: Thank you for all the kind words people :) We're trying hard to get this game sponsored so we can dole out the full version. So if you liked it, rating this game on the sidebar (even multiple times!) to the left would be very charitable of you and help increase the game's visibility in this Flash jungle. The review scores don't count towards the rating, so if you wrote a review it would doubly help if you rated on the sidebar too. WE LOVE YOU!

Oh, unlocking the secret level involves perfecting a particularly hard level. It's.. for your own good.
--

THIS GAME HAS VERY STRICT TIMING. THE FOLLOWING IS NEEDED TO PLAY ACCURATELY:

Browser: Anything but Chrome (update: Should now work on Chrome if it's the latest version of Chrome! Right click the game and check the version of the Chrome Flash is at least 12.0!)
Flash Player: 11.4 or above

IF YOU INSIST ON USING (an old) CHROME: The Chrome problem is not specific to this game, but affects all games. It's just this game requires a degree of accuracy so high that the tiny lag caused by Chrome's inbuilt Flash Player is enough to throw the timing off. YOU CAN MAKE IT WORK IN CHROME by going to chrome://plugins and disabling all plugins with 'PepperFlash' in the location. This will make it use the normal Flash player like the other browsers, if you have it installed.

IF YOU ARE USING LINUX: The latest Flash version for you is 11.2 which unfortunately doesn't include the amazing sound latency update. The game should still be playable, the only difference being that the audiophiles will notice a 0.1s latency between pressing a key and hearing its sound effect. However if you're used to playing flash games on 11.2 and have never noticed this then it shouldn't affect you! Just press enter at the warning.
--

Rhythm Doctor is a tough ONE-BUTTON rhythm game heavily inspired by Rhythm Heaven!

For those who played Rhythm Heaven, the defining feature of the series is the extremely strict margin of error, compared to any other music game out there. This means many people even realise their rhythm is a little off until they play Rhythm Heaven. My game seeks to emulate that feeling :)

Many. many hours have been spent making the engine accurate. After extensive testing we found a calibration that worked for all browsers except Chrome, which lags due to it using PepperFlash. Enjoy!

Reviews


NeonSpiderNeonSpider

Rated 0 / 5 stars

Game doesn't work in Linux at all, either in Firefox or in Chrome. The tutorial stage works but then after that the guy just sits there literally forever and you can't do anything. Well you can press the button but it doesn't do anything and no waves come or anything of the sort. You're just stuck there.

I'm curious what these "all other browsers" you tested were. Obviously you didn't test anything under Linux. I'm inclined to believe you only tested under Windows.

Not everyone uses Windows you know.

Gonna have to give you a zero for this, sorry. Next time test under Linux.

Lag is fine or understandable, especially with the disclaimer you've provided, and I wouldn't have knocked points off for that. Not working at all isn't.


People find this review helpful!
fizzd responds:

hey thanks, so what happened is sometime between the last update, there was a new version of Flash released that broke our song loading system completely. will update here real soon, but in the meantime rhythmdr.com has a working version. sorry for your troubles :)

edit: now working!


ElasticBaboonElasticBaboon

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars

The game itself is great, I played it at a friend's place. The problem is that when I get to level 1 (the samurai) the beat doesn't start, so I just sit there for a while, clicking my spacebar. I've tried refreshing the site, restarting my browser, and even switching browsers, to no avail. Any suggestions and/or fixes?
Much appreciated.


People find this review helpful!

EliteFwizEliteFwiz

Rated 5 / 5 stars

I've achieved multi-tasking maniac ;) As with A Dance of Fire and Ice, this game is perfect. As well as the song for Tier 3 Classy (Hard), Oriental Insomniac is a tune! Great game, great music.



etriuswimbletonetriuswimbleton

Rated 5 / 5 stars

Hey Fizzd
Im trying to reach out to youtubers into trying out your game and do a gameplay about it as well as supporting your development. Hope the game is not finished yet because there is so much more for it.
Also I made a gameplay video about it before:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GqtSXR3FoJg



neitherwouldineitherwouldi

Rated 0 / 5 stars

I'm stuck at patience : aproaching ( Sorry misspells i'm from another country)