Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 3, 2013 | 12:59 AM EST

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Basics 5 Points You beat the tutorial. You might even know how to play!
Friends 5 Points You beat someone in multiplayer. Winning is the best part of having friends!
Vanquisher 10 Points You beat the Beginner AI. Vanquished your first foe!
Master 25 Points You beat the Intermediate AI. No computer can stand against you!

Author Comments

Deus Shift is a competitive, two player strategy game. With nine unique units, and tons of possible strategies, outsmart your opponent and defeat their heart while defending your own.

I've started a Deus Shift Tournament! Sign up/read details here: http://www.newgrounds.com/bbs/topic/1329558

*NOTE:* Deus Shift is not a casual game. You will enjoy the game a lot more if you take the time to learn it (by playing the tutorial) before jumping in. The beginner AI will destroy you if you don't know how to play.

1/11/13 (1.81) - Added the ability to share and browse records of other players.

1/11/13 (1.80) - The AI will now never take more than one minute. It has been optimized some, and if it takes a minute, it goes with the best plan it's thought of and trashes all other plans (this means the AI might not be as good on older computers).

1/5/13 (1.79) - added medals and highscore api. Unfortunately, medals and highscores made before this update will not be displayed.

Reviews


ZyrrixxyZyrrixxy

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 11, 2013

Great game! First I didn't know there was a tutorial so I started playing and get pwnd immediately lol


davidmaletz responds:

I added the text Start Here above the tutorial, "hopefully" that will help people notice it... I agree the "extras" area is not really a good spot for the tutorial, but it's just where the button seemed to fit best.


vegaskimmyvegaskimmy

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 6, 2013

very nice thought out game. still learning.



Pimp-Juice-manPimp-Juice-man

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 17, 2013

Very interesting game somewhat reminds me of chess. It has great potential and I wouldn't mind seeing more of this. Keep up the good work. I think some type of effect should be added for the heart to give some leverage because I found a way to basically gridlock an opponent to the point where they can't summon anything.


davidmaletz responds:

Thanks for the review! It is possible to gridlock the AI as it has some weaknesses, but I think there's a way out of most of those situations for humans. Also remember you can buy units back to make room for new units. Show me the record for a particular place if you think there's no way out.

As for abilities for hearts, we've thought of it (allowing you to choose a main "character" that replaces the heart and has different movement/attack options). We might do this for a sequel one day, but it'd take a lot of thought and balance to get right.


DeoJrDeoJr

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 8, 2013

I really like it. Deep, challenging, rather original and fun. Most turn based strategies nowdays are either based on card game concept or HoMM-like classic TBS. This one is different, it uses board-game concept. I wonder what games were inspiration for this? Although this game may have some balance issues (It looks like there is some first turn inequality, I'm not sure though) I'd still buy it if it was a real board game. And I'll surely spend some time on this one. Great work mr. David Maletz!


People find this review helpful!
davidmaletz responds:

Thanks! I had thought that giving the second player a deus on their first turn balanced out the first player advantage, some people now say that going second is best since you can summon two units in one turn. It's definitely more balanced than before I gave player two a deus, but it'll take more testing to know if it is "truly" balanced!

As for inspiration for this game, as funny as it sounds, the inspiration was earlier versions of this game. The first version of this game was more similar to a classic TBS which was obviously very different. As we tried to improve, tweak and make it more fun, we eventually created a version with the current board, but very different gameplay. Really, the game just kind of evolved this way over time, and it's tough to say exactly why haha!

Anyways, thanks for all the comments! I wonder how tough it would be to make this into a board game haha (its rules are pretty complex)...


daywalker6644daywalker6644

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 11, 2013

Hilarious that some people are complaining that its too complex...lol don't play it?

I loved that it was complex and took me more than 5 minutes to figure out how to win. It's a shame you're getting all those negative reviews following that one person saying it doesn't work. I started reading the comments when the timer hit zero, and guess what? You responded to that exact issue:
"Part of this is because flash actionscript is slow and there's just a lot of "thinking" it needs to do (there are more options in Deus Shift than in Chess every turn!)"

mine wound up taking about 90 secs maybe a little more. Anyway I hope the game doesn't stop evolving, I can definitely see a larger map in my minds eye...more units, etc. Can't wait for the next version thats even more complex :D


davidmaletz responds:

I'm glad that you liked it! I've updated the AI, it should now be faster, and it will now never take more than a minute (even if that means skipping some stuff it would normally do on slower computers). Hopefully, this will improve the experience for a lot of players!