Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 3, 2013 | 12:59 AM EST

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Basics 5 Points You beat the tutorial. You might even know how to play!
Friends 5 Points You beat someone in multiplayer. Winning is the best part of having friends!
Vanquisher 10 Points You beat the Beginner AI. Vanquished your first foe!
Master 25 Points You beat the Intermediate AI. No computer can stand against you!

Author Comments

Deus Shift is a competitive, two player strategy game. With nine unique units, and tons of possible strategies, outsmart your opponent and defeat their heart while defending your own.

I've started a Deus Shift Tournament! Sign up/read details here: http://www.newgrounds.com/bbs/topic/1329558

*NOTE:* Deus Shift is not a casual game. You will enjoy the game a lot more if you take the time to learn it (by playing the tutorial) before jumping in. The beginner AI will destroy you if you don't know how to play.

1/11/13 (1.81) - Added the ability to share and browse records of other players.

1/11/13 (1.80) - The AI will now never take more than one minute. It has been optimized some, and if it takes a minute, it goes with the best plan it's thought of and trashes all other plans (this means the AI might not be as good on older computers).

1/5/13 (1.79) - added medals and highscore api. Unfortunately, medals and highscores made before this update will not be displayed.

Reviews


sosoboredsosobored

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 10, 2013

A nice, complex game. Its nice to know that they are still out there.



ErichoEricho

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 10, 2013

Okay, this game turned out to be a lot more complicated than I thought it would be. I made the mistake of not checking out the tutorial first. Even when I got through the tutorial, I had pretty much pages of stuff to read. I had to skip some of it. I am amazed at how there are so many things going on. I wasn't even able to beat the tutorial level.

I have to give you credit for creating a complicated game. The music was also fairly nicely done. I just appreciated the sheer complexity, even if I couldn't play it. If you are really good with these kinds of games, then check it out. I admire anyone who can get ahead here.


People find this review helpful!

DiscOHDiscOH

Rated 2 / 5 stars January 10, 2013

laggy game with poor controls (frequently causes missclicks). Fun when it works. 2/5


People find this review helpful!
davidmaletz responds:

The UI can be a little clunky, but did you notice the undo button? If you make a mistake, there is no penalty to undo and change your moves (there is only a time limit in multiplayer mode that restricts how much you can do/undo).


killerwolf10109killerwolf10109

Rated 2 / 5 stars January 10, 2013

Very cool concept and it's fun while it works. Problem comes in when you stump the AI and it can't figure out a move, it'll slow the entire game and your computer down while it counts down to 0 and never makes a move. I'm unable to complete an intermediate game because of it. The AI really doesn't like when I block a couple of the entrances to a circle with berserkers (Best defense unit).

So I have to rate this poorly for now because I wasn't able to play it completely, it surely needs some bug fixing.


People find this review helpful!
davidmaletz responds:

The Intermediate AI can take some time, especially when it has a Deus. It's never taken more than 30-60 seconds or so on my machine, but I've heard it can take a few minutes on slower machines. Part of this is because flash actionscript is slow and there's just a lot of "thinking" it needs to do (there are more options in Deus Shift than in Chess every turn!) The only real solutions to this "bug" is to release the game for PC (not flash), and/or optimize the AI algorithm.

Thanks for the feedback! Maybe you can try some multiplayer games? The game shines best when played against another human player (although, the room list always seems empty, so you'll have to schedule a match with someone).


DeoJrDeoJr

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 8, 2013

I really like it. Deep, challenging, rather original and fun. Most turn based strategies nowdays are either based on card game concept or HoMM-like classic TBS. This one is different, it uses board-game concept. I wonder what games were inspiration for this? Although this game may have some balance issues (It looks like there is some first turn inequality, I'm not sure though) I'd still buy it if it was a real board game. And I'll surely spend some time on this one. Great work mr. David Maletz!


People find this review helpful!
davidmaletz responds:

Thanks! I had thought that giving the second player a deus on their first turn balanced out the first player advantage, some people now say that going second is best since you can summon two units in one turn. It's definitely more balanced than before I gave player two a deus, but it'll take more testing to know if it is "truly" balanced!

As for inspiration for this game, as funny as it sounds, the inspiration was earlier versions of this game. The first version of this game was more similar to a classic TBS which was obviously very different. As we tried to improve, tweak and make it more fun, we eventually created a version with the current board, but very different gameplay. Really, the game just kind of evolved this way over time, and it's tough to say exactly why haha!

Anyways, thanks for all the comments! I wonder how tough it would be to make this into a board game haha (its rules are pretty complex)...