Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 1, 2013 | 3:01 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 3, 2013
  • Weekly 2nd Place January 9, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Daily 2nd? Thank you, it;s an honor! :D

And a weekly second? You guys are spoiling me.

--------

Final Round entry for Albino Black Sheep's Tournament of Flash Artists 2012. The final contestants had only about 3 weeks to complete their entries.

Round theme: "Character Origins"
Challenge: Depict an original, not-designed-before protagonist - or antagonist - who is strongly defined by a strength and a weakness (that aren't the same trait/ability
Opponent this Round: Patrick94

This cartoon is what won me the title of "TOFA 2012 Champion."

For this round, I wanted to do a movie without dialogue. The judges were probably expecting another funny cartoon with lots of dialogue, and I feel that I managed to catch them off-guard.

This isn't the same movie that was turned into ABS; I spent one extra day to add some minor improvements to the movie, bringing the total time spent on this movie (including concept, storyboard, animation, picking music) to 18 days. That also makes this movie a Director's Cut, I guess.

Reviews


AstralBodyButterflyAstralBodyButterfly

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 4, 2013

A movie without dialogue always says so much more than one with dialogue. You have great story boarding and technique, anyway I loved it and im inspired <3



shizzle44shizzle44

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 14, 2013

I nearly cried at the end of this.
I love this animation so much!
The expression of love is incredibly well here!



xXRozenXxxXRozenXx

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 4, 2013

This is a very good animation! It brought much sorrow as it did worry that she would not make it back to her sister. I have a sister in real life, and like the paper girl with the ripped leg, I would do anything to get back to her. Five stars! Lovely animation and great story! I hope to see more animations like this! "Torn" is truly a heartrending masterpiece.



ShingleMingleShingleMingle

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 8, 2013

Doesn't that little girl know about tape?!
Either way I love this, it was very touching with a great story. It made me cry manly tears.



PyrocumulusPyrocumulus

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 5, 2013

I am legitimately shocked to find something this well done on Newgrounds.

Good job.


People find this review helpful!